T minus 24 days


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
May 10th 2015
Published: May 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Travel minus 24 days. The countdown is on. With every passing minute another item is added to the list of things to do before I go. With each item, I feel my heart go "ka-thunk" as the idea of travelling Europe solo for two months becomes more and more real.

When I started planning several months ago, this trip was hardly more than a fantasy: a blissful journey to occupy my thoughts during the long bus rides to and from school. I mused with the same fervour as when I planned what to do with my imaginary lottery winnings and the changes I would make should I ever become prime minister. Even as I booked flights, buses and hostels this trip was hardly anything more than a reverie.

What was once a delightfully distant daydream is now very, very real.

Don't get me wrong, I am looking forward to my trip. I am excited for the places I'll go and the sights I'll see. My days will be filled with museums, churches, gelato, beaches, music, dancing, pizza, bike tours and markets. The list goes on and on. It will be a trip of a lifetime and I absolutely can't wait.

Every now and then, though, as I am planning these fun filled days, the reality of it all will hit me. Now for those of you who know me well, you'll know that a great pet peeve of mine is when people use the word "literally" incorrectly. Yes, it does actually mean something and it may not be what you think so please look it up. But what I have learnt recently, is that a metaphorical ton of bricks, can leave a person literally out of breath. Let me give you an example worthy of some figurative bricks. This morning I was looking at how to get from my hostel in London to the Natural History Museum. Using Google street view I wondered happily through the foreign streets. I admired the rows buildings packed tightly side by side, I followed cars driving down wrong side of the road and I counted an impressive number of cyclists. When I inevitably got lost a simple click of a button brought me safely back to the hostel. As I landed, I felt my chest tighten. When I am in London by myself, on my own, travelling solo, there will be no home button. No easy way out. It is moments like this that keep me up at night. It is moments like this that make my heart go "ka-thunk".

But then I remember a quote from a book I read a long, long time ago and my heart soars with excitement once again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.497s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.2118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb