The unfolding journey


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
March 31st 2015
Published: March 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

So this journey all began over a few glasses of Canadian club and a globe sitting on the dining table.



A lot of planning and research has gone into this trip.And in my laid back manner, I left a lot of things to the last minute as I was working out west and had limited time and access to do things. I've had a lot of feedback from all sorts of people in regards to endeavouring on a round-the-world trip. Mainly all positives, but there are always some people with negative remarks or they just simply don't understand.



I've been called a "lucky b*tch" numerous of times. There is no luck involved. I had a dream, I worked bloody hard and saved even harder. I went without a lot for a year just to be able to save enough for this trip. There were so many times where I just wanted to splurge, but didn't.And that is all after being on an extremely limited budget for 3 years while I completed my University degree. While I was doing uni I dreamt of travel, and I said to myself, that once I completed my degree that I would go and travel. That is what got me through the days of when I just wanted to quit and give up. So I purchased a world map and would stare at it.



I had many doubts about travel. I was extremely nervous, the "what if's" would set in, I had many sleepless nights, anxiety attacks, you name it, just at the thought of travelling with a small backpack to places I've never been and with no safety blankets of having familiar people or places around. I have pushed myself to the absolute limit by embarking on this journey of a life time. I've come to a point in my life where "what if's" don't exist and have transformed into "why not"..



I believe that I am very blessed to have the opportunity to do so. It's been a long and slow process, but it has all finally eventuated. Each and every day I am constantly learning new things, discovering new things, especially about myself, and I just LOVE it. I love having limited access to wifi, because it makes you lose yourself into your surroundings, and not waste precious hours being absent from the moment. I love exploring and being able to immerse myself into nature, that is my happy place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb