Welcome To Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last night the wheels of the greyhound bus rolled into vancouver after nearll four days of stop start bus journey! The longest bus journey of my life, crossing one of the largest countries on the planet!! Welcome to the next installments in my blog! So im in canada freinds and this blog is going to document our cycle ride across canada from here in vancouver, all the way over to st johns! We are going to be keeping a group blog for the safer wheels project , whilst this is going to be my more personal blog! The cycling starts in a week and a half so this will be the only entry until we hit the road, this week im catching up with some old buddies i met in thailand and trying to find a cheap bike!
Thats the practicalites..........mentally im quite confused, upping and leaving denmark took a huge effort on my part because a huge part of me did not want to leave. Its funny, after so many jaunts on the road...... this one feels some how solid in a way i cant explain, I dont seem to get phased by much. I touched down in montreal last week sunday, i spent five days there watching charli and kay doing exacdtly what i was doing in coepnhagen , leaving... there was some beautifull people in montreal, really giving, welcoming people ........ its funny, canadians dont seem to know what social awkardness is , and its a breath of fresh air!!! So i caught some really cool theatre in montreal called duck wife, you should search that out..... did some nice dumpster diving ate some cool food but generally chill and i was getting frustrated because i didnt really feel like i was travelling and i was at the other side of the world! that sucks huh! Kay and charli knew how i was feeling and have promised vancouver is going to be a lot more exciting (in the travel feel sense!)
right now im here alone in a couchsurfers house called Tyler, hes really cool reall chilled about things, i strum a little guitar drink some tea and think to head out into the city soon, im meeting with Al at five ish. Last night i rolled in to the station around 11 and was unsure wether to call tyler, it seemed a little late and thought it might be politer for me to grab a bush and call in the morning, but for once i decided to just try and get what i wanted and needed slid the coins in and i felt funny on a payphone to someone called tyler him saying on the other end "you got a place to stay?" haha.

The bus ride was an expereince let me tell you! Amaziingl i took three datys on a bus like three days anywhere, i just chilled, ate and read lots of books (thansk pil for that one!) Some people didnt have it that easy, one guy (nice guy ) his foot swoll up so big cos he wasnt getting enough circulation....... I had two memorable seat companions, one guy from scotland called gorden, he was super fucking cool. I dont know wahts up with me but i seem to be starting off all interactions with the assumption that peolpe are going to bore me, i dont know why maybe im just not in the mood for people right now.... but gordon, what a guy, he was full of so many fresh and positive perspectives...we talked about the universe and about being and about the frustrations in life. Mainly we discussed thoughts and how they control you, so many wild thoughts ripping in through your brain its almost crazy to think we can give them so much power..... I guess i never thought about it quite like that.... like to see the thoughts as.......... suggestions, rather tahn your own opinion. So im going to start giving this is a go, when a thought comes in my head whatever it is, im going to try say, thats a thought, what do u i think of it, rather than letting it make me want somehing i dont have, like missing home for example, for sure how can i not miss home, but giving the though power every time it enters the head will driev me crazy!
Another thing we discussed was........ how things just are... like its craz gettting frustrated and angry all the time and fighing thigns! Now if you knwo me you will know i had a bit of trouble with this, cos i feel like i been fighting things my whole life........ and i kinda jumped on him with my , so what we should all be completley passifistic ? Ithoght he was suggesting we cant change anything and may as well be happy with how things are. But no actualy his perspective was, that it is more fuffiling to find peace with how things are, and then work with them rather tahn against them............ i dunno that still soudns a bit defeatest but then i consider it in an analogy of a river flowing and you either flowing with it and gently urging it to turn.....or standing there yor whole life being pissed of trying to block the rivers flow.
I dunno what think........ but it certainly made me think, im sure as hell tired of being pissed off.

Speaking of being pissed off............. heres a few things that have pissed me off.
1. greyhound leaving somebody behind in the middle of the rockie moutnains without there bags and without any money
2. The ammount of ground that is destroyed in the rockies for chains like mcdonalds..... arrgghh!

actually thats it
The rockies though! hey and crike its going to be beauifull to cycle back up them giants!! So beautifull, butterfiles and whispy ghost clouds floating down touching the hills, snow covered peaks and rollercoaster like drops........... i cant wait towrite you guys when this trip reall gets going!
For now
big love to you all
sam xx

Advertisement



22nd June 2010

He's off again
Hi Sam and chums, I thought I would say hi as I can guess being so far away from your other friends its nice to know that you are being followed via the net. I think its amazing what you do and often wonder what i would do if I didnt have many commitments. Best of luck on your travels, make sure you buy plenty of puncture kits and some good cream for the sore bits !! Take Care Barry xx
23rd June 2010

Why did they leave someone?
Hey Sam, I love reading your blogs, I can almost feel like I'm there with you because they are so passionate. Why did the driver leave someone? That is so awful, how would they finish their journey if all their stuff was on the bus? I hope they at least took their phone/wallet with them. I wonder what happened to them. I wonder how many trees there are in Canada? Lotsa Love xxxx

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb