Some of our experiences in Whitehorse


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Whitehorse
November 7th 2007
Published: November 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good morning from Kyoto! This is your blog update re the trip from Toronto to Whitehorse!

Long travel day, but so very comfortable on Icelandic Air. The crew we have are phenomenal!!!!! So beautiful, (and handsome), professional and customer service oriented. Made for a very nice day on the plane. It was nice to get out of the brisk and chilly wind of Toronto and head to the sunny, clear weather in Whitehorse (my friend Blaine thanked us all for bringing the nice weather to Whitehorse....ha ha......you're welcome!!!!)

We had an amazing lunch on the plane (yes, it's all about the food for me sometimes........and I know Louise is wanting to know the details!)........I had trout and it was YUM-O!!!! The other choice was lasagne; everyone loved it.........bruscetta, salad, different cake choices (yes, chocolate was one of them!).

We arrived in Whitehorse and were honored, suprised and delighted to be met by the Mayor and some of the Yukon dancing ladies! Photos tell the story. We headed right for the hotel. It was a 3 hour time difference so we were "feeling it" already. Some headed straight for their room, others went for a walk...... I had a wonderful visit with my very dear friend Blaine, who works for the City of Whitehorse. We worked together in Fort Saskatchewan, AB in the early '80s (Blaine says hello to Louann and Louise!). It was wonderful to re-connect.

Then, time for dinner (yup......more food!). We had the choice of halibut or bison. I went for the fish. Great musical entertainment, the chance to be introduced to all the crew and the Travel Guild team. Some of the passengers from the western US and Canada joined us here, before we headed out to Japan.

Off to bed........and then the adventure begins. My apologies for the delay in the blog. I couldn't get access to the internet in Whitehorse!

More to come. I am writing this from my room in Kyoto, where we arrived after being up almost 22 hours yesterday! I am sitting in my lovely, light cotton Kimono and sipping Kelp Tea with Plum (Leona.......I miss you already!). We have a busy morning, but free time at the hotel this afternoon........I'll get caught up on the blog (only after I do my workout though!!!!).

Bye for now,

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

What a welcome!What a welcome!
What a welcome!

Ben Nierop, President of Travel Guild; welcomed by the Mayor and a Yukon Dancing Gal
Carl wasn't left out either!Carl wasn't left out either!
Carl wasn't left out either!

Carl Naumoff, Senior Tour Director, Travel Guild......a happy guy!
And I was right in there too!And I was right in there too!
And I was right in there too!

Me, my friend Blaine, and the Mayor


7th November 2007

off we go again!
HI Pat - It's great fun to embark on this journey with you and the plane full of happy people. Your experiences enrich our lives - those of us who are tied to our desks for now. I'm going to be watching every day to see what you are all doing. It's cold today in London - winter finally coming... Safe trip to you - Diann
8th November 2007

Incentives to travel..
Bet Keith and Jan are revelling in the meals being offered you travellers. Such pampering and tempting meals are incentives to sign up for the tour.... even for a stay-at-home type like me. My two friends look happy in that photo you displayed. Happy trails to all of you.
8th November 2007

It's hot here!
Hi Diann, It's hot here today, but not unbearable by any means! Sunny and gorgeous. We had a fabulous morning. And.......mission accomplished here already.......the Japanese penny is in my purse! Great job on the Women's Conference this year, my friend!
8th November 2007

Am I Dreaming!?
Had forgotten the plum Tea - I can taste it!! Is one of the crew same as last year. or maybe she just looks familiar to me. Did you stop in Russia? I'm reliving this trip. Leona
8th November 2007

Nope........you're not dreaming!
Wish you were here! The tea is great......... and hey, there are some people on the tour who said they know you! Small world! Stay tuned and keep an eye on the pictures.......

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb