Word of the day- Remote


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Dawson City
June 17th 2011
Published: June 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was thinking about it today and I realized that I had no concept of what remote meant. Sure, it’s a vague idea in my mind that you are far from others, that there isn’t another town or community for a while, but I come from Alberta, and generally speaking you can find town within an hours drive from one another.
On the road up here I started to figure out that there are places where a sign post reads 363km to Eagle Lodge- and they mean it. There is nothing at all for another 363km. Nothing, no town, no community, no village…. nothing. Just road, trees, space.
Out here in Dawson City you find people who came for varying reason, some to find a summer of adventure, others to try their luck with gold. But a common theme is that once the Yukon grabs hold of you, you will stay. A gentleman we spoke to at the Great Divide gas station came up here 27 years ago to a town called Faro, sight unseen, knowing nothing of the town or the people and he has never left the Yukon since. Sure, he has relocated to various other small communities but he has not gone back to the place he used to call home. I suppose it gets into your blood, it’s not always Gold Fever, but it is just as strong.
I love being Dawson City, to me it is a wonderful place to visit and enjoy the idea of living in a real life Heritage park. The buildings are old, there is the smell of history in the air and I can’t deny that I have even toyed with the idea of picking up a gold pan and trying my luck. But the reality is the winters are long, cold and you are isolated. Remote- that is the word. This place is beautiful but I think it might be a little too far off the beaten track for me.
And the summers, wow! The light is something that I cannot even try to explain. The sun doesn’t set, you feel like you’re cheating time here a little. You know it is late and that you should be tired and go to bed, but the light just makes you want to stay up and hangout in town all night. I find it strange that shops are closed and streets are quite when the sun hasn’t even dropped near the horizon. If the sun would just drop a little closer to the horizon it would be a photographers dream! That sunset light for hours, no rushing to get that picture before the fades, because it doesn’t, it just suddenly gets brighter.
If you ever get the chance to come up here and take in the crazy beauty of a place that defies time and night, you must come up to Dawson and experience it for yourself.
Happy Travels!
Love Erin & BJ



Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb