Track, School, Curling and more


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Regina
February 18th 2008
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had a really great Track Competition last weekend at the Kinsmen Indoor Games and the Regina Fieldhouse. After a disapointing showing at Winnipeg I had a great training week and watched my diet a bit better, with the results being some new PB's!
I started off with a 9.55 in the 60mHurdles, which was much better to the 1st hurdle and in between I ran on hard, I hit the last hurdle pretty hard and maybe lost a tenth there, but overall I was happy - I can see this time coming down again at CanWest
I'd been struggling in Long, but felt much better in my warm ups. On my first jump I took off really well, got my legs up and jumped 5.84 - I didnt hit the board and my legs landed about 10cm apart - so once I fix those, I'll be well over 6 and in shape for some good points.
Next in shot I knew a big throw was on the cards, I started with two 11.75's, both in excess of my previous PB, then on the last throw I launched the shot to 12.10m for a 50cm PB! Carla was stoked and so was I!.
My form carried over to High, clearing 1.71m easy enough and having 3 really close attempts at 1.74m - I know I can get it next time for sure.
I finished with a 2.45.50 1000m, I had to push the pace, hitting the bell in 32,65,1:38 and 2:12, with les sitting on me the whole race and running past me with 250 to go! we were 8 seconds ahead of 3rd, unfortunatly we will have to continue to front run as theres noone else in the conference who can run the pace.
I finished with 3156points, 135pts more than Edmonton, and ranking me 10th in CIS - so hopefully with a few improvements in hurdles, long and high I can cement a place in the top 12!

I missed the hockey game because I went to dinner with les, his parents and his girlfriend kristie and East Side Marios - very good pizza!

I went Curling with the International Exchange crew on Sunday which was fun! Despite having sweet technique pushing out of the hack, i soon discovered judging the weight to put on a 50lb rock sliding on ice when trying to stop it 30m away is very hard! It alot harder than lawn bowls in my opinion! It was fun though!

Last week was all about school and getting through a mid term and some labs. We had a really hard training week including 5x200 in 26.x on 3min, 10x200 in 29-30 on 1 min, lots of hurdles and core work.

Went out to JD's on thurs with the IE crew and Distrkit on Friday with Stacey, Tron, Les and Kristie. At the distrkit we met up with a bunch of track kids and had some fun - the place reminds me of the Tav, but the tav when I turned 18 and it was still fun!

Had luther lunch on friday too - the best thing ever, i wish I'd moved in there just for the food. Basically its $6.65 for all you can eat at lunch - We had hot tukey sangas, fries, subs, soup, pudding, cookies, pop, ice cream - amazing. We then proceeded to play Rock Band at scott mitchells place, which is also a sweet game.

Watched the cougar basketball team beat Winnipeg on sat/sun in the playoffs which was cool. Played pool on sunday night too. Oh yeah and Stacey and Tron took me shopping on sat and I got some sweet new airwalks so I dont have to wear my runners everywhere now!

Its been a pretty sweet week!

This week is reading week, so theres no classess. I'm staying here to get ready for CanWest. We leave Thursday, I compete Friday in the Pentathlon and Saturday in the Shot Put. Then theres a banquet on Saturday night and a big party! I am really looking forward to the whole experience!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb