On to Yorkton


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Regina
June 29th 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On to Yorkton

Friday, 29 June 2007

Today we left Regina for Yorkton, a bit further east & north. However, we had to take a slight “detour” to retreive a shirt I’d left in Moosomin. It’s one I’ve had for years, one which I take travelling because it is light-weight, dark in colour, and always looks wrinkled, whether I fold it properly or not. Seems I’d left it at the motel there and only realized it when I needed it to take to a restaurant (they are often too cold for my “West Indian blood”, especially when the air-conditioning is on full bore). I’d telephoned the motel in Moosomin and yes, the gal there did have my shirt. So our plan (i.e., MY plan) was to drive to Moosomin, pick up the shirt, and drive from there to Yorkton, a BIT of a detour (about 150 km!).

But first I had to try to get some exercise & get Panna away from the room, so Bob could load up the van without us in the way. So after I’d gotten most of my stuff packed into the appropriate backpacks & boxes, Bob drove Panna & me to the area from which we’d taken a walk on the previous Sunday, the day we arrived in Regina. From there she & I took a walk of about 1½ hours along the Wascana River Pathway. It wasn’t overly busy, so on two occasions I let Panna go off-leash. The first time she came readily to me, after running around like mad in the grass to the side of the path. The second time she decided she wanted to not listen, and had a great time going away from me whenever I’d call or even pretend to leave her behind - oh yes, she did finally come and she promptly got put back on leash. Probably just as well, as we’d seen some jack-rabbits when we got to the area & again when Bob returned to pick us up. That’s all I would have needed, to have her chasing bunnies all over the suburban park.

We then drove to Moosomin, got the shirt, some gasoline & finally continued on to Yorkton. Again the motel was nothing to write home about, but we at least had a bedroom & a living room with a small kitchenette space. The only problem was essentially a lack of space. Plus, the air-conditioning was only in my room, and we were concerned that it would be too warm for Bob.

We’d asked the fellow at the desk, and he suggested a couple of restaurants, one of which was quite close by, and they do take-out. So Bob decided to drive over and I walked over with Panna & placed my order & then I walked back with her. The food was pretty good, and then we had a quiet evening.

By the way, this morning the joint where my right thumb attaches to the palm of the hand resembled a golf ball, size-wise. I’d purchased a sort of splinty thing, which fits over the thumb & wraps around the wrist. And I’m hoping it will allow me to downshift without putting undue stress on the affected joint - it doesn’t hurt, just seems awfully loose.

DAY 10: 8.0 km total, walking - a bit of a cop-out, but I didn’t really want another day off only 5-6 days after the previous one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb