Parc du Bic - Caspuscal


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec
August 21st 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tough. That is the word I would use to sum up today. It was certainly the hardest day to get through yet and I hope I don't see another like it. The scenery was absolutley fantastic (fishing villages and mountain valleys) however they couldn't be enjoyed due to the hurt that the weather and terrain dished out. From about a half hour after breaking camp it was raining until lunch. It was a cold rain, going along the coast, also dealing with a headwind. With numb hands and squishy feet I averaged about 14km/hr to Mont-Joli for lunch. After a much needed Tim's stop we left. No rain. But then came the hills, climbing just above 400m from the sea where we were just moments ago. Once at the top (if you could call it that) it was still up and down, and very few downhills were coastable. Stopped at Sayabec and Amqui for a brief rest. After Amqui the downhills finally started to be more significant, but the rain and headwinds came back. Bryan and I were slipstreaming each other to conserve energy.
Now, as I write this, I am clean and comfertable in a motel bed and I'm glad that today is behind me. I have a great feeling of accomplishment and it makes me appreciate the "good days" a whole lot more. So, yes, I am glad that I got to experience some trying times. Of which I wouldn't have made it through without Bryan's support. It took 11 hours for 150km (avg. 13.6km/hr with breaks included. usually im at 17km/hr). Rest day tommorrow, then leaving Quebec for New Brunswick after the first 50km Sunday. Goodnight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

dirt cheapdirt cheap
dirt cheap

if only i had room to take a few 24's in my panniers.


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb