now in Boston


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Boston late last night, after a VERY long day. Leaving Quebec City turned out to be as hard as arriving there! My bus from Montreal to Boston at 11:45 am in the morning (I'd traveled to Montreal from Quebec City by bus from 7:30 to 10:30 am) was cancelled because of a heavy snowstorm in Vermont, and they didn't know if the next one at 3:45 PM would be leaving or not. So I spent 5 hours in Montreal, part of it at the bus station, waiting around. To pass the time, I took the subway up to Mcgill University and visited there. If the bus didn't arrive from Vermont, I was going to rent a hotel room for the night.

But the bus and its cranky driver finally got in, and he turned his bus around and braved the snow and ice, driving us down through Vermont and New Hampshire. I really admired his driving skill because the weather was terrible and the roads were very slippery. Quite an adventure!
Upon arrival at Boston's South Station, I took a taxi to my friend Pam's place. By this time it was midnight, so after a chat, we both went to bed.

It snowed all night and morning in Boston, but it's now just cold and damp. I'm at the public library typing this. I love this part of town (Back Bay), as you can go everywhere on foot.

When I get the chqnce I want to add a few more photos of Quebec City--esp. the ones taken on a sunny day with the fields of snow and the cross-country skiers on the Plaines d'Abraham. Probably won't take any photos here of Boston, as I took quite a few last summer when I was here.

Next stop -- Quatemala!

Advertisement



7th February 2008

Travel stories
Your bus trip through the snow and ice sounds amazing. Glad you finally arrived safely. You certainly had some sagas getting in and out of Montreal - it is usually us 'Aussies' who have to endure such long travelling times. I just love you photos, keep them up - Boston must also be very beautiful covered in a layer of snow. Stay warm and have fun. XXX
7th February 2008

Can't wait to see photos
And don't forget post some with you in the photos!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb