A Friendly Airport, Almost Like Old Times


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
November 11th 2011
Published: June 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 45.5075, -73.5587

Friday, November 11, 2011 I flew out of Montreal. Six + hours away from where we live, it was worth the extra driving time in terms of not having to worry about the travesty that is now termed "airport security" in the US. There is nothing secure about "airport security" except for the knowledge that basic Constitutional (and human) rights are being trampled on and ignored. At this airport I sailed through their security; except for taking off my coat, I did not have to undress, or take off my shoes, or remove any jewelry, or worry that someone would try to abuse me. Yes, I had to walk through a metal detector, but other than that, and having my suitcase and backpack screened, it was almost as easy as flying was before 2000.

I remember one of my first flights, in the late 1960s: United Airlines was the top choice back then, and one of my brothers and I flew to visit another brother whom we hadn't seen in awhile. My father had bought us each a half fare student card; with this card I could (and did!) fly several places. Prices were totally reasonable, especially for students. For example, from Pittsburgh, PA to NYC it cost $8.00. Yes, $8.00. We had to fly stand-by, but what a deal! Only once during that time was the plane full, and so we had to wait until the next day to try again. And flying was fun! The stewardesses (no stewards back then) were all young women under 30, thin, and were very kind and respectful to travelers, especially to young people flying without their parents. (Back then you would never have heard: "Ask that person to help you put your bag in the overhead bin." They did that themselves, as that was a part of their job.) United Airlines (of old) offered real cooked food, served with real silverware on real ceramic plates; I don't remember when plastic and microwaved inedibles first appeared, but that was a truly unfortunate transition away from decent food and manners. Also, United Airlines (of old) offered water and drinks in beautiful little rounded glass cups. I am ashamed to admit that I kept one of these glasses, as I loved their shape, how they looked and felt; they fit perfectly into the palm of my hand. It did not make it home, however; it got broken in transit.

Back then your family or friends could stay with you in the airport while you waited to board your flight. This made for some emotional partings, but also allowed wonderful reunions coming right off the plane. We were more aware of the importance of nurturing human contact back then, more respectful of others, more understanding of basic human needs, and less isolated, by choice or by force.

Montreal's airport reminded me of some of these pleasant flying experiences when I was young. And the plane even left on time! The food, however, was not a problem at all; they did not serve any.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb