North America


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another travel blog, for those still reading
After spending a month in sunny England i was very ready to be leaving to another country. OK, so its not that I dislike England. I loved been there with all my friends and such. But the weather depressed me.....and the thought of going to Canada was an exciting one.

I was a bit nervous about the Canadian border, after hearing a couple of stories of people been turned away or crazy questioning. I dunno why I was nervous I was perfectly legal, but i guess I wanted to be in Canada so much, I thought that something had to go wrong. Pointless stress. But then again most stress is pointless.
Well I get up nice and early for my flight. Have a funny little conversation with my friends about 'I don't get how people miss there flight! I mean, how can they spend so long faffing around that they miss something they have had booked for ages' yeah that kind of conversation.
I put my rucksack on and say my good byes and love you.....and toddle off to the Metro station.....to go to heathrow. I could stretch this one out, but whats the point. I realised half way there that I was going to the wrong airport. My heart sank and then began to race like i was in the Olympics.
I fricking legged it across London to gatwick and made it on time. When I got there they didn't like the look of my tatty falling to bits piece of shit passport but they must of liked my charming smile because they let me through anyways. Now I understand how people miss their flights. Sometimes, its just like that.

Charlis friends were coming to pick me up from the airport. After over an hour of queuing in immigration I got through......I saw 3 balloons, purple, red, green flying around, and some funny signs and bubbles. Pascale, Emile and Charles where there to pick me up. Yupppie.

I stayed in Montreal for a couple of days, before going off to the Quebec outback! I would tell you where, but I can hardly say the place let alone spell it.
Charli and I went to go stay in her dads little house in the forest. It seems to me, of what I've seen most of Quebec is just forest. But for me, that's a really wild experience, to see forest so big and never ending. One can really get lost out there. Charlis father doesnt live in this little house out in the middle of the forest, but he like to garden there and chop wood, that sort of thing. It's a beautiful little house, with a green porch/veranda and a big garden leading down to a little lake, which I think about 4 other houses share. There is a small green peer, next to which 2 paddle boats sit.
The weather was really warm....at first anyway. We made a big taste breakfast and ate it on the peer, so silent, well no human noise, but the noise of nature.
The water of the lake was so clear!! You could see the bottom even after rowing quite far into the lake.
We stayed i think around 10 days there, but then started to get a bit of cabin fever. I mean we saw Charlis dad every few days, but I couldn't communicate with him because I don't speak french nor does he English. So I only spoke to Charli for 2 weeks! Woosh.
We got a lift share back to Montreal.
Where I still am. I been here almost 3 weeks. I am staying at my friend Emilie's house. I have small room there where they are letting me stay for free. Its really nice of them. I like the house and the other people living there. Its pretty relaxed and in a good location for getting around. Emilie also lent me her bike, so I've been riding around everyday.
I really love Montreal, its proper chilled out and there is a lot to do.
I want to make some more friends because sometimes I get lonely. And I know this city is full of potential friends!
On Thursday there is an open stage at this really cool place called MUCS. I went there on Thursday to cook with them....they had a movie night where we watched a really cool film called 'Garbage Warriors' if you can then try give it a watch its quite interesting.
I m going swimming 4 or 5 times a week, the swimming hall is free! so coooooooool. And i am very excited about the winter coming. I wanna wear snow shoes! I wanna go ice skating.....and i want to try to carry on cycling, but we'll see how that one goes.

I dunno what else to write actually, computers fry my brain.
I am happy and excited to be here, its beautiful and full of trees. The autumn of course brings with it much colour and that fresh crisp cold air.

I have an address now and a house phone number, so if you want them give me a shout.....

Love you all xxxx

Advertisement



12th October 2009

What about the bear?
You have to tell them about the bear Kay, that was so graphic I almost shit me pants! Glad you are having such a great time, you should be getting a letter soon, all the way from sunny Gleadless! Love Turnipxx
12th October 2009

shout! sounds beautifull kayble! xx
13th October 2009

Wow!
So you really live in Canada now!? Amazing babes! You can learn french and be totally tri-lingual! MIss you sweet-face!

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb