Joyeuses fêtes


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
December 23rd 2005
Published: December 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I've had 3 days of classes now at LSC, downtown Montreal. And I've been finding the level I've been placed in - higher intermediate - a little easy. The reading is nothing new and the grammar is review for me. I spoke to Ana and she'll figure something out with my teacher next week - whether I can move up a level to advanced. I'm only here for 3 weeks, with 1 already down. I need a real challenge before I go.

Today was a day off because of the Christmas weekend. I'm going to take a trip to Old Montreal - the European part of town - to do some sightseeing and exploring.

What I love about taking the metro is passing by the talented musicians who play for the people. However I feel that Montreal's not the best place for immersion for any language. People here are so diverse that you don't get to fully experience the concentrated immersion of one language - even if it's the official language of the province. I've asked for directions in French, only being answered in English. How disappointing.

The transport is a lot better than what BC can offer. It's so much more alive and connected. Very convenient. Can get anywhere in Montreal through the metro and/or bus.

Meanwhile, joyeuses fêtes! I can feel Christmas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Xmas SpiritXmas Spirit
Xmas Spirit

A house donning Xmas spirit I passed by on my way home.
Concordia Underground MuralConcordia Underground Mural
Concordia Underground Mural

Concordia University.
L'hermitageL'hermitage
L'hermitage

Outside my school.
99-Cent Pizza99-Cent Pizza
99-Cent Pizza

The mall food court, where I have lunch every day at school.
CorridorsCorridors
Corridors

In my school.
Salle de classeSalle de classe
Salle de classe

In my school.
Xmas Music Xmas Music
Xmas Music

At the metro.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb