Montreal II


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the last place I updated about was Halifax, which I actually visited before Quebes City. The rest of Quebec City I pretty much stayed in a shitty mood, I couldn’t shake it. I guess that happens sometimes. Nothing really impressed me, and it kept raining. It’s a shame, because everyone else who goes there absolutely loves it. Maybe I should go there again in my two years here.

After Quebec City it was back to Montreal for the Osheaga Festival. Lisa was going to be there and decided to go to the festival too, so I was excited to see her. I hadn’t seen her since the Australian Open in January, before she buggared off to South America for 6 months.

So I checked into the HI again, the same place Vanessa and I had stayed a fortnight before. I asked for a bottom bunk, but they were full and only had a top bunk. Oh well. I drag my suitcase up to the 4th floor, and find that the girl sleeping in the same bunk as me had taken the top bunk by accident, awesome! Bottom bunk for me. I had the necessary shower and called Lisa to see where she was. We decided to meet near the water, so off I went. It was pouring down with rain, as it tends to do in Montreal. I sat waiting for Lisa at this outdoor food court, to hide from the downpour outside. Before I know it I am surrounded 4 cops, all on their lunch break apparently. They just decided to sit with me. It was slightly uncomfortable, and they were all speaking French around me. Finally Lisa got there and saved me from the uncomfort that was sitting with the French police, and we went to a bar in search of cocktails. We found a little café and sat down. As we did, we saw what looked like a homeless drunk guy causing a scene as he was getting kicked out. It went on for a while, he kept yelling and shouting, even when he was outside, and kept trying to provoke the security guards into fighting with him, because he had fought in Vietnam, so had all the moves. It was funny to watch, if not a little scary.

It was awesome catching up with Lisa, and hearing all her stories from South America (horror and otherwise). We then went to watch the Montreal version of the same fireworks competition I had seen in Quebec. This time it was free though, so I’m not sure why we had to pay in Quebec! I think we gathered at the wrong side of the bridge, because the fireworks seemed to be on the other side, but it was still cool to watch! We’re not sure of the theme of this fireworks comp, but it was by China and there were lots of fireworks that looked like Saturn, so we thought it was supposed to be based on the solar system, but then there were hearts with circles around them. Either way it was good. After the show we wandered around the city taking photos. Lisa always forgets to take photos, so I was a good influence on her, since I take more photos than a Japanese tourist. We went through another festival, the Francophone Festival I think it was called.. They were setting it up when Vanessa and I were there for the Just For Laughs Festival. There is always at least one festival on in Montreal during the Summer, I’m told. Lisa and I then parted ways, she took the bus back to her friend’s house and I walked back to the hostel.

The next day was the day of the Osheaga Festival, yay! The Killers! I had been having trouble with my phone not charging though, so went to Futureshop first to see what they could do about it. I had paid extra for a warranty, so thought they might just give me a new phone. Not so, it would turn out. In order to get my phone fixed I have to send it off myself, and claim the postage back from Futureshop. They don’t provide me with a phone in the meantime, I have to buy a new phone and return it within thirty days to get my money back. Obviously I don’t have a fixed address at the moment, and they can’t tell me how long it will take to fix my phone, so I don’t even know which hostel to get them to send my phone to. Then, of course, if they don’t fix it within thirty days I’ll either not have a phone because I’ve had to return it, or have two phones because I don’t return it. Bloody ridiculous! I decided to leave it for the time being, and come back the next day because I didn’t want to carry two phones with me at the festival. Turns out if I keep plugging in and out my charger, the phone eventually stays charging. It’s frustrating, but I’ll put up with it til I move to Calgary permanently I guess.

Annyyyywaaayyyy.. Osheaga! The first band we saw were Louis XIV. Beau was always a fan of this band and I had seen them supporting The Killers in Melbourne, so knew what I was in for. They were so much better than I remember them being though, so that was awesome. I don’t know why they were first, because they’re a bigger name than a lot of the other bands that were on, but you get that. The next band we saw were a Montreal band called Beast. They were really good. I was disappointed because the Foals had pulled out at the last minute and Beast replaced them, but they were good so I was satisfied. Next was N*E*R*D, who I thought I only knew one song from. They were pretty good, put on a good show. The Montreal crowd doesn’t really go off to music, and the guys picked up on this and actually had a go at us, saying that although everyone speaks French, we should still get into the music more. It was funny, and worked because the crowd got better. There were these two guys that they pulled up on stage in the second song, who they let stay up there the entire time. The photos they were taking must have been awesome. They were the right two people to drag up though, because they seemed to know all the words to the songs, and got right into it. Oh how I hoped that Brandon Flowers would pull me up and let me on stage with The Killers! In the last song, She Wants to Move (the only song I thought I knew.. Turns out I knew others) they pulled up a bunch of girls and they all danced along. There was one girl that was an awesome dancer, I pointed her out to Lisa straight away. Pharrell took a real liking to her, and told her that he loved her. Bet he tried to get her back to his hotel room!

We then sat up on the hill for a few sets of acts that we didn’t know, I introduced Lisa to the wonderful world of poutine, which I think she enjoyed. We went down for Cat Power, whose only song I know is from the Juno soundtrack, and she didn’t even play it. She was crap, and I really didn’t enjoy her at all. A few people got into her, but most were as bored as we were. Next were Iggy and the Stooges, but Lisa and I waited in the crowd for the Killers, and just listened to them, they were on the stage beside us. I enjoyed watching the roadies set up The Killers stage more than I did the Cat Power set, so that’s pretty sad! They had flowers, an awesome light up “k” keyboard, and lots of lights. Finally the band came out and they were beyond awesome, so so good! They played a lot of songs from Sawdust, and the slow piano version of Sam's Town,so I was happy, and they even played one from their new album. We were four rows form the front, so had a great view.. That was the closest I’ve ever been at one of their gigs so I was rapt. Last time I saw them they played a song from Sawdust and then it came out a few days later. Unlike other bands though, they don’t plug their new material at all. They don’t even mention that it’s a new song, or say that they have a new album coming out very soon, they just play the song and move on. I took heaps of photos and a few videos, had such an awesome time.

The next day was the day I was off to Chicago, so I stored my stuff and had the intention of going to the Yves St Laurent exhibit, only to find out when I got there that Mondays were the one day that they are closed. Awesome. Oh well! So I wandered around the city for a few hours, sat by the water, then got on the bus.

After my mood in Quebec I was totally revived in Montreal, not sure if it was seeing Lisa again, a familiar face, the festival or both, but I was a lot happier.

Kirsty xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



14th August 2008

Canada
Hey, just wanted to say I enjoy reading your blogs as I am off to some of the places you have visited and visiting. Gives me a little taste of what to expect on my travels. I have so many questions to ask, haha. Keep safe!
14th August 2008

Hey, thanks! It kinda freaks me out when i find out that other people are reading my blogs, because I write about everything in them. Of course it's perfectly fine when I read other people's blogs. Double standards, eh? :P Go ahead and ask all the questions you need! Are you coming over on a working holiday Visa too, or just coming for a holiday? Where are you from? Kirsty
14th August 2008

Lol, it's good. I enjoy reading them! I am coming over on a working visa, have yet to send off my police background check etc, but I'm on the BUNAC programme. I am from Bristol, England. How much did you take with you because I read that you've been to a few places already and you there for 2 years?! Hopefully I should be able to get a job with my experience in an office role. Thanks. Dave.
14th August 2008

I had saved a fair amunt of money before I came, but you only need to have $4000 for them to let you in. They didn't check that when I was coming in though, which was odd! I'm obviously using a fair amount of my savings already, so will have to work hard to get those back up again! I'm moving to Calgary next, apparently there's a lot of money to be made there! Not a heap to do there, but I'll be able to handle it for a few months! Just a tip if you need cash fast :P Where are you thinking of settling? Vancouver is an awesome place to go, big city (though not as big as Toronto) the best public transit system ever, beautiful scenery, heaps to do. Really has everything!
14th August 2008

Nice. I am hoping to have around $8,500 when I come out. I hope I do get a job, because if I don't, I'm worried my money will run out pretty fast! I read that you have 3 luggage cases with you, is that a struggle? I've heard train stations (especially Montreal) store your luggage for a period of time, for a fee of course. Do you know anything about that? I am thinking of settling in Toronto for the major part of it all, but planning to visit Montreal, Quebec City, Philadelphia, New York City, Baltimore, Washington DC, Boston, Vancouver, Seattle and possibly California if my money will stretch.
14th August 2008

My friends have been in Toronto for three weeks, one has found a job and the other hasn't had any call backs! They say it's because it's Summer holidays so all the uni students on holidays are after Summer jobs, but it's definitely something to keep in mind! It shouldn't be too hard when you get here though. I've been travelling with the Greyhound bus, and you can pay for storage there, so I guess the ViaRail would be the same! I usually just store my stuff at the hostels I stay at, it's free! Your trip sounds awesome.. Try and fit in Chicago if you can, I really enjoyed it there, and it's not too far from Toronto!
15th August 2008

Ah, fair enough. I've been looking at MegaBus, as it's so cheap if booked in advance but I don't suppose you can go wrong with Greyhound :) Thanks for the info! Chicago looks really nice from your pictures. So many places to see, hehe. Good thing about Greyhound is that you can go almost anywhere!

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb