death by icicle


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I almost suffered a sudden death by icicle.

I was walking to my exam, happily minding my own business - despite what appeared, and still appears, to be yet another snow storm building up... When suddenly a gush of wind howled past me, the fragilely hung icicles collapsing from the roof tops and hurtling down at unforseeable speeds to the concrete pathway on which I was meandering.

It is amazing how such a vicious act of nature sounds like nothing more than tinkling glass as it finally connects with the grey pavement below. Perhaps it is buffered by the foot of snow which is still lying around, no longer resembling fresh white powder but rather a more sordid, soiled, icy heap.

Okay, enough poetic ramblings about ice. I had an exam this morning, and I have another one in ten minutes, so I had better go and get my interpersonal relationship on!

In any case, I finally understand the reason behind all of the signs around uni, stating "Danger. Beware of falling ice".

I vill reetoorn viz photo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002.6kb