Bonjour!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
June 28th 2005
Published: June 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

On my way to Israel, I had an overnight layover in Montreal. I got in late, after a confusing shuttle ride from the airport that involved a bus transfer onto a minibus only slightly larger than my suitcase. But my room was fantastic. Dark hardwood floors and white furniture (aahhh...) I ventured down to the neighborhood late night cafe and got some yummy fresh homemade potato chips. The next afternoon, I spent a few hours travelling around Vieux-Montreal (that's Old Montreal for you non-French speakers out there). I had a great time just walking around and looking at the architecture. Went to the Banque de Montreal (lots of Marble - built in 1847) and the Place d'Armes. The Place d'Armes reads "You are the buckwheat seed which will grow and multiply and spread throughout the country" - Sound familiar?. Lots of people were taking a lunch break. There was this weird combination plant shop and concession stand. There's also the Edifice Aldred. Montreal's version of the Empire State building. I went inside the Basilique Notre-Dame. A 4000 seat catholic church built in 1829. It was incredible inside. Apparently the guy that built it was so moved that he converted from being an Irish protestant to a Roman catholic. I eventually found my way to FOOD! I went to the Place Jacques-Cartier - a marketplace that opened in 1804. Cobblestone streets, outdoor cafes, street entertainers. There was even a Ben & Jerry's. But i refused to sell out, so I went to one of the local cafe's. I spent so much time taking pictures of everything that I didn't have time to finish my meal. So my waiter took it back and had it wrapped up like an aluminum foil purse. Cute! The speedwalk back to the hotel left me breathless and not just from the walk. The narrow streets and old style architecture were super invitiing. I don't know what the rest of Montreal is like, but Vieux-Montreal gets a thumbs up!
Au Revoir!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb