Montreal road trip


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
December 29th 2006
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!! Or Bonne année in French



My 2006 ended with an unexpected road trip to Montreal for the weekend with god-sibling Michelle and her non-identical twin Heather (or Head, as we call her), two of the most messed up girls I've ever met. Not a minute went by that I did not fear for my life and I was subject to their anti-Australian taunts and constant barrage of insults. Head's at least 7 foot and her mini-me Michelle, although barely 4'10", is a little violent pocket rocket. I resigned to sitting in the back seat - at least I could see where the punches came from.

We left Toronto around 2:30pm on Friday arvo and it wasn't long before we hit traffic. I learnt a new word - rubbernecking: the act of slowing down to a crawl at the scene of the accident just to check out what happened, and piss everyone off in the process.

Our first stop was at the Big Apple. No, not New York. It's one of those tacky roadside attractions that you see all around Australia. Funnily enough, they had pictures displayed there of other big things around the world, mostly from Australia (ie. the big pineapple, big banana, big marino, big prawn). I almost felt nostalgic for a second there. We didn't stay long but stumbled across two wild rabbit showing their love for each other in a public display of affection. I even managed to get it on film - click here

500 or so kms and 6 hours later, we cross the border into Quebec and arrive in Montreal. Accommodation was all sorted. We stayed at Jean-Sebastien's place, a former workmate of Michelle's. Since we arrived pretty late, we cracked open a couple of bottles of wine and settled in for a night on the couch.

Saturday was "show Vito around Montreal" day. Unlike the others, this was my first time in Montreal. Though I was still in Canada, it was surreal hearing the Québécois speaking only in French. We went to Mont Royal, a mountain north of downtown, with great views of the city. The locals were taking advantage of the snow, some cross-country skiing and others on snowboards and toboggans.
Then we walked around Old Montreal. The cobblestone roads and horse-drawn carriages gave it a nice European feel to the place. Montreal is also
How far am I?How far am I?How far am I?

Only 15,567 kms to Sydney
a very Catholic city and there were many 19th century churches scattered around the city. We stopped off at a Belgian pub and what a better way to spend a cold winter's day than to have a pint of beer and poutine - hot fries covered in cheese curd and gravy. So good, but so very very bad. I'm sorry Vancouverites, but Montreal poutine shits all over Vancouver poutine.
That night, we checked out a club called Opera. The $15 cover charge and expensive drinks reminded me why I don't clubbing anymore. This one bartender charged me $22 for one vodka & soda and one GT. She truely fucked me but I certainly didn't enjoy it!

The next day, we said our goodbyes to our gracious host and left for the trip back to Toronto. It was a short, but excellent stay, and I survived the wrath of the terrible twosome.
Again, we were stuck in traffic. This time, the accident was on the other side of the friggin' road. Bloody rubberneckers.
But we entertained ourselves with races around the car, a backseat wrestling match (which I kicked arse) and dancing on the street. The look on the other motorists' faces was
Mont RoyalMont RoyalMont Royal

Great view of the city
priceless.

Anyway, you can view the rest of our photos here.

HAPPY 2007!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

SignSign
Sign

All signs were in French but I think we were here to have Beaver tail
Montreal poutineMontreal poutine
Montreal poutine

Fast food staple in Canada
Love at first sightLove at first sight
Love at first sight

Mum, dad, I've finally found someone and we're getting married. She doesn't move or talk... everything I want in a woman.


3rd January 2007

LMAO
You need to start writing your NOVEL !!! Wotta crack... could be titled, "The MISadventures of Vits". Had ppl wondering wot I was doing, when I was larfing so hard in the office... hate to be the one to break it to u, but your wife-to-be may not be revealing all, when it comes to the kids ur after... LOL
3rd January 2007

Happy New Year Vitsss !!! Wishing you all the best for 2007 !!!!!!! Keep the great stories coming along with the pics, glad to hear you are still having the time of your life xxo
3rd January 2007

Rock'n
Nice one bro, I also had a bizaar and unexpected xmas trip, went snowboarding in Switzerland?!?!?! will do a blog or something soon once I've got some pic's back, woohoo!
4th January 2007

Good pics Veeedhaaooo
Next time we go out in MTL I'll bring you to a place where drinks are still 12$ but it'S worth it! And oh yeah...To all Vito's friends.... He's a brave man to keep his sanity with those two succubus from hell (Michelle and Head of course!) JS also know as "The Gracious Host"
4th January 2007

HNY from GrassCutter
hey mate, it's great to hear that your havin so much fun! So much better than IT life, innit? I spent a drunken NYE in Melbourne and partied on the next day at Summadayze and man I reckon the Melbourne crowd shits all over the Sydney crowd. Anyway Vits, keep the adventures rolling. Cheers

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb