Winter Round 2: Montreal


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal » Saint Laurent
December 17th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mtl snow stormMtl snow stormMtl snow storm

I am standing outside theBonaventure metro station on my way to the train station.
It is 3:37 am on Monday December 17th, and just made it home back from Mtl. What a long ride home!!! My train was delayed 4 hrs due to the nasty winter storm that hit central and eastern Canada today. Mtl had complete white-out conditions today when I took the bus to Bonaventure Terminal. So I told my siblings not to bother dropping me off at the train station because it was useless. I am glad that they agreed. So from mum's place I took the 121 bus to the Cote Vertu metro station. Once I was there, it was ok. I took a video of just how bad the weather was. I continued downtown where I was to meet dad. Sure enough, by the time I got there, he was already waiting for me.

My train was scheduled to leave Mtl at 5 pm arriving in TO around 9:15. Well, long story short, after several delays, we started boarding the train around 7:20 and the train started to finally move forward at 7:30 pm. With all the weather related delays we encountered on the road, I arrived downtown TO at 1:35 am.

I ran through Union subway station
Downtown MtlDowntown MtlDowntown Mtl

This is downtown Mtl in the middle of the storm. I finally got home at 3:30 am after cabing it home.
only to miss the last subway going to Downsview station. Having no other choice but to go north, I took the train going the opposite way to Don Mills' station thinking that at least I was heading in the right direction. By the time I got there it was 2:14 am. So I decided to wait for the 2:35 am bus that would take me to my place. Then I met Ron a friendly TTC guy, who asked me what I was waiting for. I told him I was waiting for the bus and we started to chat.

In the end, the 2:35 am bus never showed up and I could not wait for the next 3:05 am bus, so I went outside and took a cab home. So here I am all wired already thinking about tomorrow morning which is really only a few hrs away. What an adventure just getting home.

Overall, it was a good weekend, I got to see my sibs, nephew, mum, dad and my Habs convincingly kicked some Maple Leaf ass on a Saturday night. I even got a blizzard before leaving for Australia, what else could have I asked for?
Ville St. LaurentVille St. LaurentVille St. Laurent

Walking to the bus stop was like stepping out into another planet...

PS: Since our train was 4+ hrs. late, ViaRail will honour 100% of our next Mtl ticket purchase!!!!! All I need to do is present my ticket stub at the next purchase. AWESOME!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb