That's About It ... (Day 198 to Day 227)


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal » Old Montréal
September 4th 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Oh well! I got home on August 20th after a 37 hours flight. After another two times 37 hours, I was back to work. I have to admit that it was and is still quite a shock. I was supposed to take two more weeks off from work before going back but they were in a big rush so I decided that it was just fair to give them a hand. But I warned my boss that I would be pretty rusty. Rusty is not the word. While reading and studying drawings and projects, I frequently find myself staring out of windows and dreaming about what just happened (in the last 8 months). This trip was like a K.O. caused by an overstimulation of the senses. I've seen so many breathtaking places, heard so many different languages, tasted so many meals, smelled so many different odors (rarely good ones!) and been through so many different climates. I know my collegues and probably my boss will read this but what could we expect? I'm no robot and as usual I'll do my best! But after being through this once-in-a-lifetime experience, working in my office with my desk burried under papers, books and
Love Frisbee!!Love Frisbee!!Love Frisbee!!

It was so great to play in the Gili's, at sunset with a beer ... before Oli hurt his back of course!
plans is pretty confusing!

Le pire à propos de retourner dans la routine c'est de savoir exactement comment ta journée et même le reste de la semaine va se dérouler. Se réveiller à la même heure, se retrouver pare-choc contre pare-choc en empruntant le même chemin, voir le même monde, retourner a la maison par la même route et à la même heure, déjà savoir ce que tu vas manger pour souper, et se coucher. C'est moins pire que ça mais c'est quand même mon impression depuis 2 semaines. Il n'y a plus de surprise, plus de nouvelle rencontre, de nouvel endroit, de nouvel route. On m'avait averti des effets d'un aussi long voyage et je peux maintenant en témoigner. Nostalgie est le mot.

But don't get me wrong. I'm not sad. Let's say it's a happy nostalgia, a good one. Because if it wasn't the case, it would mean that my trip sucked. But it was all the contrary as everyday I spend here makes me think even more about how all of this was great. And being surronded by people who loves you is never a bad thing. I missed my family big time! Eating my grand mother's food and playing with the kids must be one of the greatest and most priceless thing out there. Having a beer with my friends and talking about all the little stories that happened while I was gone. Being in my own place, my own bathroom, my incredibly confortable bed, all this luxury! Wandering through my favorite city, noticing all the little changes and how the construction projects didn't evolved as expected. In fact it might be the geekiest thing I will ever say but I feel like Frodo when he's back in the Shire at the end of the last Lord of the Rings movie. GEEK!!!!!

Anyway! After Australia ...

My blood brother Oli, his brother Math (which is a really good friend too) and I spent a whole week in the Gili Islands to celebrate my 30th birthday. I shall never forget this week. G and Marie-K, two good friends of ours, came to join us. This week was all about partying with the greatest peaple ever, crashing our bicycles while drinking big Bin Tangs and having an unknown girl sitted on the backseat, snorkeling among huge turtles and being famous on the main alley : "Hey what's up Nik? Good night yesterday Nik? Hello Nik! See you later Nik! You want mushrooms Nik? ... No!". After this week of insanity, we were back in Bali. We visited the touristy Ubud and the surroundings. I'm not saying it was dissapointing but after being in almost every southeastern Asian countries, fields of rice, temples, crazy driving and palm trees are what they are and don't really change from one place to another. But it was Math's first trip outside Canada and he was so amazed and happy about everything that it made me even happier. Despite all this, it was the first time I climbed a volcano and it was a highlight for this Indonesian chapter.

Après le volcan et le départ à Math, il est arrivé les 1001 malchances à Oli et mis à part quelques soirées tout à fait mémorables, de très belles rencontres, quelques heures de surf, une soirée de combat de coq dans la jungle et quelques très bon daytrip ici et là, il ne fallait pas trop se risquer à faire de nouvelles activités parce que c'était sur qu'Oli allait se briser des os, se faire voler, violer ou brûler. Je lui laisse la chance de vous compter tout ça.

So that's about it! This is the end! But before I go and this could take a while, I'd like to thank everyone I met during this trip. Because I believe the people you meet changes you in a way or another, brings you something more and modifies your path in life. Hoping I don't forget anyone, here we go :

First of all, all my friends, collegues and familly members who encoraged me to do it and helped with some stuff while I was away. Then in chronological order : Bethany from the States, Alicia from Australia and her two friends and Brian from the band Rasker and the Brainwreks with whom I had my first big night of the trip in Killarney. Francesca, Nikki, Adam and Adam all from the States, and Nicolo from Italy with whom we had a great tour and a great night out in Galway. Miriam from Germany with whom we had fun in Belfast. Cornelius from South Africa, Simon from France and Alexandro from Peru that I met in Edinburgh and with whom I experienced one of the sickest roadtrip ever
in Scotland. Again in Edinburgh, a big thanks to Oli from N.-Z. with whom we grinded and noseslided the bunkbeds in the dorm and wanted to give me a skateboard for my trip. Also tall Sam from Montreal, crazy Wade from Alberta, weird Favio from Italy, Nick from England and Natasha from France. An incredibly huge thanks to Ng for his warm and fun welcome in London and for the jet set night we had. Un gros merci à Ge aussi, c'est toujours le fun de se rencontrer un peu partout dans le monde! The people from Rottenberg who took me under their roofs and introduced me to real german party during the festival with their families. Munchen : I definitely owe one to Claudia and her friend from Stuttgart. Sarah from L.A.! It was fun at the Hofbrauhaus. My Cappucin friend Michael in Salzburg. In Vienna, Boris the Bulgarian who snored in the dorm as if there were no tomorrow. The band The Nothingits from Cali who invited me at their show in Ljubljana. Nicolo again who welcomed me and showed me around in Padova. Bon vieux Harry que je rencontre toujours dans mes voyages! Un gros merci très
Renting BicyclesRenting BicyclesRenting Bicycles

I'll have the best memories ever about renting these bikes. We were so ashamed when we had to bring the bikes back the next day. Broken, flat tires, missing pieces, broken flip flops and beer caps in the front basket. The only thing they said was : "Don't worry mate, go out and have fun". The most relaxed people on Earth.
special à mon père et ma grand-mère pour le vrai "highlight" du voyage!! Nancy pour l'experience hors du commun en Grèce! In Egypt, Freelens Joel from Tennesse who gave me good tips about photography and Kasanda from Australia. Also Shawn and his friends from England. In Turkey, Antigoni and Durga from the States, Eryk from Poland and Yeon from Korea with whom we had a great trip in Eastern Turkey. The newly married world travellers Greg and Kerry from Australia. And of course, a huge special and deserved thanks to Anano from Georgia, for all she's done and for who she is. Au Japon, un gros merci à mon bon viel ami Phil et son frère Alex. I owe one to Takeu and his girlfriend to help me find my wallet back in downtown Tokyo. Still in Tokyo, Keiko, Ben and Yote. Un gros tabarnak de merci à mon Parisien de Tanguy, un compagnon de voyage hors-pair et avec qui on a passé par toute la gamme des émotions durant 3 semaines. In Seoul, Tom and Emily from England, Siyuan from China, a big thanks to Ania and Roman from Moscow who also helped us out in Beijing, Antonin from France, Hideaki from Japan, Olli and Antti from Finland, superb Katia from Russia. In China, Mikael, Sebastien et mon bon vieil anarchiste de Christophe qui viennent de France. Ania and Roman once again! As well as Tom and Emily. A big thanks to these two girls in Xi'an who helped us with the problems we had while we were there. Un gros merci à Romain et aux autres expats Français de Shanghai. In Viet-Nam, Francois de St-Tite! Scott from Canada and his girlfriend Joyce from Austrlalia and of course, his mother Cathy and her boyfriend. A special thanks to Daina with whom I had one of the greatest night of the trip in Hue. The staff at the Mui Ne hotel where I stayed, they really took care of me when I needed it! Also Aaron!! In KL, Adriana from Poland. Un gros merci à Ferbot pour leur bel accueil à Singapour! Longue vie à ce couple!! In Australia now! Gifton the legend, from NB, who showed me a good time in Melbourne. Also Jess and Ritchie. The 70 years old murderer in Sydney who just came out of jail. Of course, Kasanda again and her parents. One hell of a roadtrip in Fatima with her and a nice warm welcome from her parents. Scott and Joyce again for letting me live with them in Brisbane. And Tom from Charter's Tower. Un gros merci malpropre à Oli, Mathieu, G and Marie-K pour ma fête en Indonésie. Tout simplement mémorable. Mandy, Prudence, and the staff and people in Gili. Jinx and Erin with whom we had the best drinking dart tournament ever. À Kuta, l'humoriste François-Pierre Tremblay. Les Norvégiens qui ont sans doute perdu mon contact et sans oublier notre belle gang de Québécois, Guillaume, Brigitte, Marieve and Audrey, une méchante belle gang!!

So I think that's about it even if I'm pretty sure I'm forgetting someone. Anyway, let me know if your name is not on the list.

Thank you for reading my blog and thanks for all the positive comments.

With a lot of love,


Nikolas




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

OffrandOffrand
Offrand

These were everywhere in Bali. It was a complicated task to not step on them.
Ok Ladies?Ok Ladies?
Ok Ladies?

Plan your trip ahead!!


30th October 2010

wow!
i love all your photos, and it sounds like you had a fantastic trip- I'm so jealous. thanks for the shout-out!
31st December 2010

Back at work
My husband and I are 3 years post around the world trip. From our experience it takes a good 6 months to really get back into the rhythm of work. You will remember and dream of your trip, the foods you ate, the places you stayed and the people you met-- each day from now on. We were happy at home with friends and family for about 6 months. Then the itch returned. We've taken a few nice trips since our return but long to do something longer. Our day will come. Our mind is etched with amazing memories and our lives are fuller for having gone. We look at the world a little bit differently now-- not big changes but subtle. It takes about a year to truly absorb all that you saw. Happy future travels, MJ

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb