Summer Days in Montebello


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montebello
September 18th 2005
Published: September 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cabin in the WoodsCabin in the WoodsCabin in the Woods

Sing if you know the song..."Little cabin in the woods, little man by the window stood. Saw a rabbit hopping by..."
Montebello is an hour-ish drive outside of Ottawa. It's a sleepy area that's very perfect for getting away from it all and lots of outdoorsy things to do.

The Chateau is a beautiful log cabin in the woods. You can just imagine the people in the 30's in the long dresses playing croquet on the lawn. It's right by the river (haven't figured out which one yet) so the view is amazing.

Being here on the last week of summer means I miss the beautiful fall colours and most of the summer fun. The outdoor pool was closed and the river was just a little bit too cold to do any canoeing or kayaking. I spent my day off visiting a restored heritage house (Manoir Papineau) and learning about the history of the area. I had poutine for lunch and sugar pie for dessert that day - it was as yummy as I remember it to be.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Manoir PapineauManoir Papineau
Manoir Papineau

Just a quick walk from the Chateau is the Manoir Papineau. M.Papineau built it to reflect the many different styles of architecture that he admired. He even added a bathing room attached to the master bedroom so to convince his wife to make the move from busy party-filled Montreal. I guess Montreal was the place to be in the 1850's.
Land of the Silver Birch, Home of the BeaverLand of the Silver Birch, Home of the Beaver
Land of the Silver Birch, Home of the Beaver

I don't know why I have all these old kids songs in my head. Bunny & I sat by the river under this tree just reading a book and watching the river flow by. None of the trees have started putting on their autumn colours yet but I can imagine how beautiful it will be in another few weeks.


Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb