Canada... Work work work!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Gatineau
May 16th 2008
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tulips in OttawaTulips in OttawaTulips in Ottawa

The Dutch send Tulips to Ottawa every year to thank the Canadians for their extensive help in WW2, quite some experience to see as a Dutch person in Canada. Especially since no one in the Netherlands knows about this tradition!
Okay, after spending more than 4 months in Canada now, I think it's time to write down a bit, and create my first blog ever. As said above, I am currently staying in Québec, Canada, where my girlfriend lives. I am a Dutch citizen myself, I like to travel the world, and I think that although I have traveled my share for a 21-years old, I haven't seen anything yet.

Since I've been here for quite a while now, I got the chance to experience a Canadian winter here, and I have to tell you all that it's nothing like I'd ever seen before. In my region we had a snowfall of more than 400 cms this winter, yes four-hundred centimeters! It was the worst winter in more than 30 years, and while everyone was complaining about it, I thought it was great. We had to clear the roofs to prevent the house from giving in under the weight of the snow, we were riding around on an ATV to clear the driveway every now and then, driving a car was sort of like skating and the "winter"-clothes that I brought from the Netherlands turned out to be completely unsufficient for the weather here. I guess you have to experience it to know what you got yourself into.. Anyways, it was all lots of fun to me. I don't think the Canadian people here get to see someone my age running and playing in the snow that often either, so a new experience for everyone!

Now, as for the "Work work work" in the title of this blog, I don't have a work permit here unfortunately. How do I work then? Well.. I've found myself a mission for the time being here, and afterwards. I found out that while there are numerous webpages on the internet providing information about traveling, it is hard to find a website where all the necessary information is combined on one good site. My girlfriend and me therefore have set ourselves a goal; we want to provide all the travelinformation we can gather on one website, and make easy traveling more accessible. We provide people with information ranging from information about how to select a digital camera to buy, to check lists, to information about countries. We think this will help a lot of people, and we think that this will be a useful addition to the mass of travelwebsites.

Anyway, our work is progressing slowly but steadily. The only problem we ran up to so far is that it is difficult to have information of good quality about every country, that is why we have decided to only put information on our website from first-hand experience. We have found people who traveled most of Europe (including myself), North-America, Brazil, Australia, New-Zealand, Fiji, Thailand, South-Korea (me again) and Hong Kong, and we are busily talking to other people to provide us with more information. If you would like to help us, don't feel shy to contact us, I want our website to be a team effort to make information more transparent and easier available.

Well.. Today is another day of work ahead. Unfortunately I didn't make it to Ottawa this morning (where I like to work in one of the many Tim Hortons coffee houses), but I guess it's easier to work from home anyways.

I'll write all of you soon again!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb