Adieu, Adieu


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Gaspésie
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well here's my goodbye entry, I've got to keep it short as I've left my packing to the last minute.

I'm going to Montreal today, Paris tomorrow and Bamako on Monday. I think my work project in Mali will be in a greenhouse nursing baby saplings. The address I've been given to receive mail is below, however I'm not really sure mail sent to the ministry of agrisculture in Mali will get to me.

Ministère de l’Agriculture
Direction nationale de l’Agriculture
B.P. 1098
Bamako, Mali

It's always crazy how quickly the summer goes by, and my time here was no exception. I'm sad to be leaving my host parents and the community here, I know I've made some connections that have changed the direction of things for me. And I also know that I'm going to come back and visit the people who were so generous and hospitable to me here.

It feels strange to be leaving for Mali and leaving behind everything comforting and familiar here, but I'm ready. Our group is together, and will only get stronger once we're there. Besides, I have a personal guide and very goos friend who will show me everything I need to know for the journey ahead. I have no idea what the next three months will bring, but I'm sure they will be just as much of an adventure as the last turned out to be.

I'll try my hardest to keep the blog updated, but as the village has no electricity it will prove difficult. I think we'll be going into the city once a month and I can update then, and if not I'll do all my updates when I get back. And yes, don't worry Mom and Dad, I'll call you.

Kanben, Celina


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



26th September 2009

au revoir
Well Montreal today, Africa ... on Monday. WOW! I expect you will be busy in Montreal but if you want to give Gita a buzz 514 813-0508. I find it wonderful to read your first blog entries and now this one. You have grown so in your attitude and acceptance. All this has prepared you for the more dramatic cultural shift ahead. You ARE ready and it will be fascinating. Thanks for the address. Let you Mom and Dad know when you do receive mail. Adieu et a toute a l'heure Celina. Tootaloo. Admiring you, Joni
26th September 2009

Celina - I just have the sense that you are about to step into the most extraordinary chapter in your life. Keep a diary!! I will miss your blog entries but look forward to occasional updates however they may come. I know you will make the best of this adventure and I am thrilled for you. Do take care of yourself. We all need you back here one, full of stories but day safe and sound. Jackie
26th October 2009

Wowee
Dear Celina, You are so cool! I still cant believe all the amazing experiences you are having these days. And you are far away in a wee Mali village of 750 people! I hope everything is great where you are! Take lots of pictures. Should I try and send something to that adress you posted? Or is there a more specific location to send it to you? Miss you and sending huggy lovin' vibes, Emily

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb