Ski school......


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Beaupré » Mont-Sainte-Anne
January 13th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Look its snowing!!!Look its snowing!!!Look its snowing!!!

View from the front of our chalet this morning.
Ok so this is the first of the "boring" blogs. Well boring to some but not to others.....

Ski school started with avengence with Pat yesterday at 10am. The basic premise is that we have four hours of ski school on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. We have the day off to practice on Wednesday and we also get an extra hour in the classroom on a Thursday!

The five of us met up with Pat outside of ski school yesterday morning having done a quick green run. Pat thereafter took us up the mountain and the hard work started. I have to say that within the day my carving had improved. I can ski backwards I just need to improve my confidence in my ability but my 360 turns are now where to be seen - 180s yes but thereafter I get stuck.

By the last run of the day I was knackered so on the last run day down I took quite a few good tumbles and now have some impressive bruises to boot!! Last night was a chilled night in the chalet and an early night. As soon as my head hit the pillow I
"Home""Home""Home"

This is my home for the next 10 weeks. We occupy the left hand side of the chalet.
was out for the count.

This morning I was awake early and was greeted with the sight of fresh snow and it was still snowing. I and the two boarders, Sam and George, headed out first thing and did a couple of runs before meeting at ski school. This morning Pat got excited with us and the first run was the last run we had done yesterday, Le Beaupre, and I have now decided this is my nemesis as once again I took a few impressive tumbles for no apparent reason. Pat decided that this wasn't hard enough and so took us down one of the "easier" blacks which is used for the womens downhill ski world cup (needless to say a few more turns were thrown in than they would use!). It was decided that once wasn't enough and therefore the experience was repeated. Its scary to think that people throw themselves down the run and only throw in turn when the course dictates!!

This afternoon consisted of drills and practice. I spent a lot of time sat down at odd angles in the snow. One particular fall became quite scary as i was headed for the
Dodgy picture of me....!!Dodgy picture of me....!!Dodgy picture of me....!!

In this photo is Sam, me, Marie-Eve and Tom
trees however thankfully I was stopped by the bank of snow I had gathered up but a lot of swearing did come out of my mouth thereafter.

At the end of the day we all ended up in the second office (the bar), whereby Pat has sorted it that we get instructor priced beer so we pay $4 rather than $7, we all got talking and Pat confirmed that within 4 weeks we will have passed our level 1 instructors qualification and thereafter they have a group of English schools over and we will be teaching them. It then transpired that we won't necessarily be teaching absolute beginners but we will also be teaching intermediates - this is a scary thought given at the minute I can't tell where my own problems lie let alone identifying someone elses problems!!!! I feel my bluffing skills may be required =;0)

Its still snowing here and its meant to continue into tomorrow however Thursday is meant to see a ridiculous drop in temperature i.e down to -29. Tomorrow is going to be a practice, practice and a bit more practice. On Thursday we are off ice fishing so am sure I'll be able to provide a few humorous photos and stories from that.

Needless to say I am loving it out here and am so glad that I can call a snow filled mountain my office rather than an office in wet and rainy Manchester!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb