Niagara Falls Ontario Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
September 4th 2014
Published: September 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

A beautiful day. We are staying in Niagara Falls, New York but visited Niagara Falls, Canada today. You can view the falls from the United States or Canada. Everyone told us that the view from the Canadian side was better. We decided to take a tour. First we went down behind the falls and went through concrete tunnels to view the falls from the back side. Beautiful. Then we took a ride on a boat called the Hornblower that took us to the base of the falls. They provided us with rain ponchos. And, we did get wet. But, great experience. I loved it. Yesterday I wanted to put pictures on of our group but somehow lost the pictures in the computer(imagine that). Charlie is trying to help me get the picture situation fixed. Hopefully, I can put some on today. The first day we were out we had no internet..so no blog. I forgot to mention yesterday that while we were traveling here, we saw fields of grape vineyards. I was so surprised to see grapes grown this far north. But, I would say that grapes are the crop grown here. Also, I forgot to mention that our step on the RV wouldn't go out and in. So, Jim had to undo the step motor and tie it up. At night when we stopped, he rigged up a step to use. Hopefully, I am enclosing a picture of this. So, this morning before we left for the tour, he got under the RV and fixed the motor on the step. Thank you Jim. Some things I found interesting about the falls..16-18 million people visit the falls every year. The water from the falls starts to form in Iowa. Then goes to Lake Superior, to Lake Huron, then flows into Lake Michigan, then to Lake Erie to Lake Ontario. I believe our guide told us that the falls are between 185-188 ft. high. All of New York city is powered from the American side of the falls. All of Toronto is powered from the Canadian side. After a busy day, we are having pizza for supper.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



5th September 2014

Beautiful pictures Marilyn! Thanks for sharing!!
5th September 2014
Jim redneck steep

:)
Thank you for posting this pic! It made me laugh so hard!!!!
5th September 2014

Great Blog!
Thanks for writing such an informative blog...you taught me some things today. See, isn't it all worth it?! :) Miss you!
5th September 2014

Yea!
Glad you are doing this again. Thanks!

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb