Road Trip Cont...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
November 10th 2010
Published: November 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 19. For Sault. Ste Marie, we had another long drive in front of us, we were heading for Toronto where we'd be staying for the next three days. Jenn's Mum was nice enough to let us stay at her place in a town about forty minutes out of the city called Aurora. Jenn sent us directions of how to get to the house and we found it pretty easily. We arrived around 5 or 6 in the evening, it was Halloween. Debbie put a couple of pizza's in the oven while we answered the door for trick or treaters. The kids were so cute, we had a kid dressed up in a dragons outfit, the superman came and knocked on the door and of course their were little princess'. Their weren't as many as I though their would be, just a handful. I'm wondering why Halloween is at the end of October actually, it can get pretty cold out, and the poor parents have to walk around with the kids, it should be in summer or something. Anyway, that's my two cents. So we ate pizza and drank wine and chatted to Debbie and answered all her questions, she was pretty excited to have us stay and to learn a little about our countries. After that, we headed upstairs to watch a movie on the lap top, Social Network. To be honest, I didn't really enjoy this movie, it was a little weird.

Day 20. So our first day in Toronto, we actually had a bit of a sleep in which was nice. But then we headed into the city and made our way to the CN Tower. They had a pass which we got, it included a movie that they had playing called the Ultimate wave, it had Kelly Slater in it, and was about finding the ultlimate wave, and they were in Tahiti. It was a pretty good movie. The pass also included the first level of the viewing floors which had the glass panels, then second where there was a restaurant and then the sky pod, which was another hundred meters higher then the other viewing levels. I realised there are some crazy people out there too, the climber called Spiderman scaled up and down the glass wall of the tower twice in one day. I wonder what actually possessed him to do such a thing.
Anyway, we ended spending about three hours there. We got some dinner at a really nice pub called the Wellington, then asked the really hot bartender directions how to get back. He was really helpful and even took out his iphone and got the directions up for us to see. Even though we had the directions in our possession, it still didn't stop us from getting lost. We missed an exit, ten took the wrong one, oh dear, oh well. It was fun, lots of traffic though. When we got back we watched dancing with the stars with Debbie then went to watch another movie, Newcastle. Again, not really a movie I'd see again.

Day 21. Our second day in Toronto was spent a little less productive. I had tried to get in contact with three different friends that live in the Toronto area, I guess it was just too hard to catch up. So we went to a huge market where have all different meats, seafood, bakeries and fruit and vege shops, all looked so good. We then went for a walk along the waterfront the to the Hockey Hall of Fame, the went for a drive to Mississauga. We then headed back to Aurora as Debbie want to take us out for dinner. We went to a very nice restaurant in Newmarket, the next town away from Aurora. I had Lamb Shanks, soooo good. I miss lamb. It was a very nice meal and good company too, Jenn's mum is an awesome person.

Day 22. Woo hoo, Niagara Falls today. We got up earlish and made our way to Niagara Falls. Wow, what a sight. The falls are just amazing. Unfortunatly, like everything else, it's a little bit out of season, so we weren't able to do the maid of the mist boat ride to the bottom of the falls, that would've been amazing. We did but a pass that included a 4D movie, access to the tunnells behing the falls and to the butterfly exhibit. The 4D movie of was good, it told you how the falls got there in the first place and was really cute, when the movie part finished, we went into the next room where we had to stand in the middle, all around us there was a screen that showed the falls, this was the 4D part, we got splashed with water and foam came falling down on us like it was snow. Luckily, we were given raincoats otherwise we would've gotten pretty wet. After that, we headed to the tunnells, we were literally about ten meters away, was pretty cool, when we come out to the lookout, the falls were right next to us, it was really cool and loud and little bit wet. We got some really good photo's. We through the shop and I got some souviners and we has some lunch and sadly we left the falls to cross the border into the states.
Crossing the border was good. I thought we'd be ok with everything, but no, I was the problem lol. When I landed in LA on my way to Vancouver back in April, they put a travel visa in my passport that allowed me to come and go into the states as much as I wanted. I was always told not to remove anything from your passport, so I didn't. When the customs guy looked at my passport, he asked when the last time I was in the US was, I told him last year if transiting didn't count. Then he asked about the green card I had in my passport and why I hadn't taken it out. So I told him that I was told not to take anything out of pasports blah, blah, blah. He then got me to read the back of it. It said you must removed the visa after a period of three months otherwise you'd have trouble at customs. Oops! He then told me to park the car and to go into the office. Oh Shit! What was in for?! So I took a number and waited about 15 minutes or so till they called me in. All they did was issue me with another visa, I had to sign it and pay fee of $6 and I was on my way. Phew!!! The guy at the gate made it sound like I was in huge trouble. The guys in the office were really nice, having a laugh with each other, they even told me, if the guy at the gate was rude or yelled at me, they'd go down and yell at him for me lol. Ok, so we were free to go. Officially in the US.
Driving in the states was slightly different, the speed was in miles instead of kilometers and so were the signs for the distances, at least on the car there were miles aswell. We visited the info center and got a map of New York state and set off for around 45 miles to New York city. Ok, we didn't make it all the way to the city, but we made to Albany which is about 100 miles away, and apparently the capital of the states which I didn't realise. I'm on holidays and still learnng things, pretty cool eh?!
Stand by for the New York edition...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Does two rainbows mean anything???Does two rainbows mean anything???
Does two rainbows mean anything???

This was looking towards the bridge to the states


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb