Transcan - Arnprior Ontario


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks, Taking a rest day in a Arnprior Ontario. The trip continues and the theme is rain! It's rained almost every day so far. I don't even bother with weather reports now, if it's raining I pull on the rain suit and ride. New Brunswick seemed endless, but the ride across the Gaspe was beautiful though with a tough wind. I rode along the Matapedia river, a beautiful Salmon river, lots of fishing camps along the way.
As would be expected I've met some interesting travelers along the way. A young fellow in Trois Rivieres who was long boarding from St John NB to Vancouver! It was raining of course and he looked worn out!!!
Met a fellow from Liverpool who had quit work for a year and had his Yamaha 650 XT shipped to Halifax. He was riding across Canada and then into Alaska before heading south into Mexico. He had gear! The bike was loaded with a small spot where he nestled in!!! I did get a picture and will someday uplaod!
A couple of days ago I got to Gatineau Quebec and after riding 115K in the rain and a vicious little hill up to a campground, I was looking too good myself. As I was waiting at the office, a couple kept staring at me....gees I knew I didn't look too good, but hey! Finally they approached and asked if I was looking for a place to camp and I said yes, just for 1 night. They said, hey we have an acre and live a short distance from here and it would be free. I hesitated and said I needed a place to shower and do laundry and they said no problem!!! So I followed them home. Once there they said why don't you just stay in our guest room! Oh man, it was like a B&B, a custom home with all the toys! He's RCMP and she's an emergency room nurse. After a shower and laundry, they took me on a tour of Ottawa and a Vietnamese dinner!!!!
A wonderful couple. And of course I forgot to grab my cramera for the tour, but luckily she had a camera and said she'd email me the photos. In the morning a wonderful breakfast and then off into rain and fog!!!
OK all, take care. Keep riding and playing!!!
George

Advertisement



Tot: 0.357s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb