Southern Ontario


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
May 29th 2007
Published: May 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So my trip began as I flew from Vancouver to Toronto. My great aunt Susan picked me up from the airport and we drove northeast of the city to the farm where I met my great uncle David. I have never been a big fan of Toronto (I like cities, but not that much) and it was such a surprize and relief to discover beautiful, calm country so near to the city. I was introduced to the cows and the wild barn cats and I met my second cousin and her family. My relatives were super friendly and welcoming and I had a great visit. I was reminded that they drink milk out of bags in Ontario and that some grocery stores are open 24 hours.

Then I headed back in to Toronto where I met up with Kevin. We stayed with his lovely friend Helen and I met some of his old highschool friends when we went out for a night on the town. We also played three hours of Wii Bowling and my arm hurt for days afterwards. Kevin and I then headed down to Niagara Falls. The drive was not particularly scenic, as it mainly consisted
The Sky WheelThe Sky WheelThe Sky Wheel

We rode it in the evening and had great views of the falls lit up by coloured lights.
of four lane highways through some of the dirtiest cities in the country but Niagara Falls was quite a sight. I knew that it was touristy and cheesy but I wasn't prepared for the onslaught of flashy businesses advertising their attempts to lure tourists away from their money with their glowing neon signs. The falls themselves really are beatiful though. Kevin and I went on the Maid of the Mist boat tour which took us right close to the Canadian falls. They gave us blue plastic garbage bags to protect us from the spray but we still got wet. It was what I had hoped for though and I had fun. After dinner we succomed to the lure of the arcade and wasted a whole lot of money playing the likes of Big Bertha and DDR and that game where if you stop the flashing light just so you win a whole pile of tickets. We ended up with enough tickets for two sticky hands for Kevin and a blue stuffed elephant for me, because you never know when a blue stuffed elephant will come in handy in Scotland.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The Main Street in Niagara FallsThe Main Street in Niagara Falls
The Main Street in Niagara Falls

What does a haunted house have to do with waterfalls?


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb