Blue Chicago


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Windsor
September 18th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, finally updating 😊 I'm soooo late in doing this lol sorry.

We left Chicago late, after 2 PM. Natalie did very well driving in Chicago, with Lucy's help. I'm amazed I didn't have a hangover lol seeing as I closed the blues club @ 4 AM lol but I drank a big tall glass of water with each drink LOL We decided that we were not going to shop in Chicago. All the traffic moves very fast. lol Nat kept saying that she won't complain about Vancouver traffic again.

When we were leaving the city, the car was getting loud. It was not so bad before, noise was tolerable, as we continued our drive from Ill. to Indiana, it got louder. We were going to stop in Michigan so I could meet an online friend who I have known for 10 + yrs. Her late husband was instrimental in getting a site to the general public. ( I used to chat at this site all the time) She lives in lower Michigan but the car was worring us. So we decided to boot it through. We made a shopping stop in Gary, Indiana. We didn't go right into town lol there was a little strip mall on the outskirts which had a great clothing store!! I bought some clothes for 2 of my grandchildren, bought shoes & purse for my daughter. Also bought Nat's girls a lil gift.

I decided since we were going right through to Windsor, Ontario. We would need some Starbucks coffee LOL Yes, I'll admit I'm one of thoes people. I'm addicted to their coffee 😊 So anyways we went in for coffee and bathroom. I decided that while Nat was in the restroom that I'd do some shifting of things in the back to find a pillow 😊 so I went out opened the side door and opened the back hatch. Then threw the keys on Nat's seat. I opened al the doors ( I thought) and closed the door, went back to find my pillow. When I found it, I closed the door and went to open the passenger door but I had locked the keys in. Nat's purse was in there, and my phone!! LOL Good thing I had my purse, I had the money! lol so Nat went find a phone and call AAA. We had to wait over an hour. Finally they showed up, and we got on the road. lol

One thing I have to say about Chicago. There is a lot of tolls LOL Some are $.30-.60-1.00 lol but there is a few of them. Another thing, we had to find a bank to exchange some moeny. Well you'd think that in Chicago, there are banks everywhere BUTTTTTTTTT they won't do it!! They sent us to First American or something, they were very snotty and won't help or give any info on where we could exchange money. Finally we found "the" bank who were sure to help. They said "No" so Nat asked where they would. The "older lady" said she didn't know. Finally a nice young woman piped up from behind her and told Nat where there was an echange place. But Holy $#%@& I gave Nat $ 700, we got $580 lol

We went to the hotel we had planned to stay at. Right downtown Chicago. We registered with no problems, we were going out, so I was going to put my wallet and Nat's passport into the safe in the room. It wouldn't lock lol so we had to get the young lady from the lobby to come up and reset the lock. LOL She tried and tried so she said we could bring our stuff down to the lobby. While she was there I asked her where is there a blues bar to listen to music and dine 😉 she sent us a block away, it's called Blue Chicago. whooohooooooooo lol So we headed there. But no food. LOL I had a ginger ale at first but I decided that I want to have a drink. So I ordered a Black Russian.
The music was awesome. There was a trio playing the blues. Then after sitting for a bit, they invited a lady up. She was awesome. Nat was drinking doubles lol yep. So she was starting to get a bit tipsy.

I bought a poster from there. That's my only purchas lol Finally Nat had enough and I brought her back to the hotel. I came back to the club, it closed @ 1:30 AM lol I asked the bartender if he could recommend another club. Which he did. LOL It was called Kingston Mines. So the doorman called me a cab, and gave the driver the address on where to take me 😊 LOL That place was so cool. It's a big place. Two BIG rooms, each room has a stage and the bar serves both places. The other side is smaller, later in the night. They asked us to move lol It closed at 4:30 AM lol I stayed till the end too LOL I took a cab home and I had talked to the bouncer earlier and he knew where my hotel was lol so he told the cab where to take me lol

We slept in lol Nat ordered room service for our brekky, then lunch LOL We slept right until 1 PM finally Nat went to shower and woke me so I could pack while I waited to shower.
LOL I so enjoyed Chicago. I met a few people at both bars LOL I am so obvious being Canadian LOL I totally enjoyed having drinks. lol fun, fun, fun!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb