En Route


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
August 21st 2011
Published: August 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

So I left Minneapolis this morning with everything packed and ready to go, except for maybe myself. I haven't even really thought about the fact that I'll be in Paris tomorrow and that I'll be in Rennes, France for four months. I'm sure it'll finally hit me once I'm there, but for now I'm exhausted from a crazy weekend of seeing friends and family and saying my "See you laters." I know that this semester will fly by, but right now Day 1 is going by quite slowly since the difficultly of leaving everyone I love behind is still fresh.

However, I shan't dwell on the sadness, but instead get ready for my journey ahead. I'm currently in the Toronto airport and very grateful for the free Wi-Fi. Right now there is a beautiful thunder/lightning storm going on, which would be bad, but I have 5 hours before my next flight, so I can enjoy the beauty of the rain. Nothing too much exciting has happened yet. I suppose I sang part of the "Miss America" song with the nice man checking my baggage at the Minneapolis airport. His name was Ivory and he helped me start my day off right. It's the little, random things like that that I wish to document because they are easily forgotten, but most important to me. It's the interaction between two strangers that continues to astound me and add to my understanding of this perplexing and paradoxical thing we call life. Wow, I'm tired. I'm getting a little too profound for my own good.

I've also decided that I really need to brush up on my French real quick like so I'm reading "Le Petit Prince" and perhaps "Antigone" in French. I know I'm not nearly as prepared as I should be, but that's part of the adventure I suppose.

Well I'm just rambling now and there seems to be a Tim Hortons in the food court. I'm only in Canada for 6 hours, so I might as well try their "fine cuisine."

Ta ta for now,
Meg


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb