One year ago today...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

rocrocroc

Roc Saint Sauveur
Hello all!

So this past week marked by departure to France anniversary. One year ago, I was in Paris, France, living the good life - no responsablilties, no work, no problem! I only had to answer to myself; I only had to worry about the core survival basics - finding food and cooking it deliciously, finding shelter and having enough social interaction to be content.

All of the above-mentioned tasks could be quickly fulfilled, leaving plenty of time for adventuring. During my first week in France, I met great friends, and quickly improved upon my language skills. As I made my way south by train, I was mesmerized by the French paysage - soaring mountains, beautiful wildflowers, sculpted monasteries, and magnificent little country cottages. I had arrived in Heaven on Earth.

The open road soon narrowed. I arrived to my first WWOOF farm in the Pyrenees. It was a remote and breathtaking place. The owner, Madhu, was very much a "Hard work, then play" kinda gal. I respect that.
I arrived on the weekend, meaning days off. Great timing. Two Americans had arrived the same morning, and we quickly bonded. Cass and Amanda.

We spent our first Sunday on the farm hiking the great Pyrenees. One of the most wondrous things to happen - at the top of one of the mountains we passed by a great herd of mountain goats. They were hilarious! Some were pushy, others attention seeking, all interested in our lunch.

I kept thinking, if this is how life is here, count me in!

Of course, life constantly throws you curve balls, and "the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry".
The newcomers, Amanda, Cassandra, myself, and Rowan were shipped off to another farm, closer to civilization and to the Mediterranean Sea 😊

Rowan would become a major player in my European Saga. She was a New Zealander, full of life and energy, always seeking excitement and good times. She is like a fun-magnet!

Anyways, the four of us quickly settled into to life on the "Olive Farm" with Namuah and her son, Ralph. More on that later.

I plan on retrospectively writing about my experiences, each week if possible. Even if no one else reads this, it will help me sort out my past experiences, and keep my memories fresh.
They will all go towards my "memoirs" later on in life (hahaha).

So enjoy, because I certainly will 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



27th September 2009

Keep writing!! I love reading about your adventures!! Hopefully soon we can get together and you can tell me stories in person! Love you tons! Holly

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb