Toronto in a Day


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
January 8th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So we had a pretty hellish overnight bus ride to Toronto. The bus was beyond full, so we didn’t get our own double seats. Anyone who has spent more than a few hours on a bus can identify with me when I bitch about how hard it is to sleep when you are sitting next to someone. So yeah, by the time we arrived in Toronto we were ready for sleep.

Sleep was not on the agenda for the day unfortunately, so after hanging around the Greyhound station waiting for the sun to rise, we loaded ourselves up on caffeine pills and Tim Hortons and we were off to explore the city! We probably couldn’t have chosen a worse day to go to Toronto; although it wasn’t overly cold, it was foggy as all hell. The main reason we went to Toronto was to go up the CN Tower, but it was so foggy that we couldn’t even see it!

We headed off to the Hockey Hall of Fame. I wanted to do it last time I was here but got lazy or sidetracked or was too hungover.. Something. It was pretty cool, I’m only a new hockey fan so I guess I didn’t get as much out of it as a die hard would, but it was still cool. It was disappointing that you had to pay for a photo with the Stanley Cup. I didn’t opt for this photo, what would I do with it anyway?
There were a few movies you could watch, Beau fell asleep in one of them, he was so tired. Poor poppet. I thought it was funny though.

After the HHOF we needed another caffeine hit, so off to Starbucks we went! Beau made me laugh at one stage with a mouthful of white chocolate peppermint mocha. I sprayed this delightful beverage all over myself; in my hair, on my face, on my clothes and on the floor. Gross. But funny. The sticky hair I had to deal with for the rest of the day wasn’t too fun though.

We still had quite a few hours to kill before our bus ride to Niagara, so we went to Chapters (Canada’s answer to Borders) and hung out there for an hour or so.. I read about Vegas, yay!

We then grabbed a hotdog and chips from one of the many hotdog vendors and watched people ice skating.

Then it was off to the Greyhound station to wait for our bus.

The ride to Niagara was wonderful. We got a seat each, which was bliss after the ride to Toronto. Too bad it was only 2 hours!

We got to our hostel and were faced with the most warm greeting I’ve ever received at a hostel! The manager was so wonderful, taking time to chat with us and recommend some things for us to do, showing us personally to our room and showing us around the hostel. So nice!

We went to sleep relatively early, we were buggared from the day and had a big one planned for the next day

Advertisement



8th January 2009

Sleep
You made me tired just reading that!
20th January 2009

You had to pay for a photo with the Stanley Cup? That's bull! Me and Erin only had to wait in a 20 something person line and then got a photo for free... Which hostel did you stay at??
26th January 2009

We didn't stay in a hostel, did the overnight bus then left for Niagara that night. It was painful but worth it to get another destination in!

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb