Winter comes to Toronto


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After now living in Toronto for over 4 months, I thought all was well.... the stories about the snow seemed so far away.
In the past 3 weeks snow has arrived. The first fall was a nightmare. All the talk of snow tyres etc- pah! who needs them.. ( I do !)
After leaving Beach Volleyball- from indoor beach to outside antarctic- last week the snow drive was a nightmare. No problem. I got home.
Today however was the first snow storm of the season. As you can see from my pictures the drive was a little tricky. The snow overnight was 15cm which I thought was pretty impressive. After I arrived at work - my colleagues informed that this was nothing. I had to use 4 wheel drive for the first time today- THEN on my drive home I find that there ( and I joke not) the weather warning is calling for SNOWMAGGEDON. Yes the actual Met office is calling this. F*3$ !!
The result is an estimated 50 cms fall this coming weekend- nice.
The good news is that there will be snow at christmas 😊
The bad news is that the weather has been dipping to minus 15 for some days.
Followed by good news- my secret santa elf at work (this is very unenglish) gave me a very cool northern soul cd !

To celebrate all this, there was an actual Santa parade in Toronto. No surprise in what happened. The city was shut down, people camped out and Santa arrived in Toronto. The pictures say it all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb