Is Being a Yuppie a Reversable Procedure?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
November 24th 2008
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mood lighting shines down on my laptop, the buzz of the expresso machine and Yuppies with disposible income overwhelms my senses. I momentarily dry heave at my transformation into a textbook definition of a Yuppie, while attempting to moderately consume my Caramel Corretto. Similar to a gaggle of geese, I work, I save,I age, I follow. Today is a little different however, due to a slight detour that I am about to take.


My charcoal grey suit (similar to our famous Canadian bird) is about to be shed and replaced with a backpack, a camera and a 29 year old whose eyes are going to be opened as wide as a child's. What I'm about to do for the first three months of 2009 has been done by millions, but it feels like I have had a million reasons why NOW wasnt a good enough time.

I have a little over a month to prepare for my trip, which I have only found out I have time for today. I thought I would be more excited, but I feel more relieved that the opportunity has finally come to fruition. My cofee is now cold and I finally realize that this $5 beverage has made me like so many others a slave to Starbuck's price inelastic clientele. I prefer to support the Canadian franchise Second Cup, but their internet isn't free. Maybe that cup of coffee isn't so outrageously overpriced.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb