Day 8: Toronto


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
April 13th 2006
Published: September 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 8: April 13 - Toronto
Accommodation: Global Backpackers

Today was the last day of my trip in North America, and I didn’t have any major agenda again today so I took my time. I had a late breakfast, spent a bit of time on the net, then headed out into the cold towards the CN Tower, apparently the world’s tallest building. I could be wrong though. It was surprisingly a relatively short walk from my hostel, and fairly inexpensive also. I went inside and up an escalator and after getting my ticket I had to walk through this security barrier which shot out bursts of air all over my body for about 5 seconds. It was pretty strange and kind of fun and ticklish, but I wasn’t completely sure why they chose this sort of security measure. Regardless of that I moved on to the lift. You have to love a lift that has glass coverings to allow you to see outside while you’re moving faster and faster to the top. So I reached the observation tower and looked out onto the city, but there weren’t any major landmarks to look out onto apart from the one I was already in so I just took in the nice view as much as I could. At one point I stood on a thick piece of Perspex so that I could see the ground below and it was pretty fun. I picked up a fridge magnet and headed back down.
I wandered into the street which was full of outdoor stores and looked around, then I thought I would go shopping for a decent carry-on-size backpack to replace the shoddy one I had taken with me at the last minute. I found a strong and fairly wide one for a reasonable price so I snapped it up. The bag had a badge embroidered on it saying “Europe Bound: Toronto, Vancouver” on it. How awesome is that? A bag that shows where I bought it and where I’m heading to. So I scored that, had a nice lunch where I offloaded the rest of my Canadian money as a tip to the waitress with a nice smile, and wandered around the city centre but couldn’t find much else to do really, so I repacked my things into my new backpack and headed back to the airport for my first British Airways flight to take me to England!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb