Lloyd loved England and went on about the Queen


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
July 9th 2007
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today, at 15mph, we ascended the CN tower for amazing views of Toronto. There seems to be little more to the city than attractive buildings and so a 330m high view of these was impressive. Whilst the others queued for an hour and twenty minutes for the lift to the ‘Sky Pod’ the uppermost viewing point, Rob, Al and I had a wander around, taking in the city hall, a few shops and a lot of sky-scrapers.
As part of my fast food quest, I went to Harvey’s and had a root beer which, in Al’s words, tasted like cough medicine. I didn’t mind it, although I don’t think I’ll bother with it again. It resembles ginger beer but not as nice. I cancelled my order for a burger, having already had a hotdog for lunch, so I can’t really tick Harvey’s off my list but it is lower priority now. The ‘All Beef Hotdog’ didn’t look like all beef to me, but at $2 (about £1) it was a delicious bargain. Not only was it considerably better than a frankfurter in Britain, it was in some tasty bread, not a dirt cheap finger roll, and you could help yourself to gherkins, onion, dried bacon bits, chillies, olives, onion, sweet corn relish, green relish and several other additives. Mighty fine.

When we met the others we wandered back through an unimpressive China town, through the university, parts of which are lovely, ivy covered buildings surrounding green courtyards, and the Ontario Parliamentary Buildings. At the motel, we got a mediocre but cheap Chinese takeaway from the attached restaurant where I met a friendly Canadian couple who bought me a beer. The woman, Jessie, had been to India where her mother was from and so was keen to talk about that and Lloyd loved England and went on about the Queen and commonwealth for a bit. Jessie was keen to meet the boys so when the food was ready she came up, after Lloyd had warned me not to take advantage of her naivety and she proceeded to say little and leave quickly. A while later Lloyd popped in looking for her. He was considerably more talkative but the boys still thought I was crazy for meeting them and inviting them to the room. I had three bottles of ‘Canadian’, half consumed on a very empty stomach and after a tiring day walking and sweating, got drunk and went to bed.
Tomorrow, we leave Toronto. It is a great place to spend a day wandering around and there are a few theatres and art galleries if you want them but otherwise there is little to detain you here. One last comment - all the homeless and beggars seem quite respectable - often clean, clean shaven, sober and polite. How odd.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb