Family Time...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
June 4th 2007
Published: June 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all once again..

Firstly I will start by hoping that one & all are well and enjoying life as much as I am at the moment.

And now to the topic of conversation...
My mummy & daddy came to see me!!!!! YAY!!!!

M&D arrived on 21 May in Vancouver so I flew over to see them. Half way through the flight I just started balling my eyes out I was so excited. Not to mention when I actually saw them. It was so nice to have them there with me so I could show them the country I have been spending most of my time in.
After the debacle fo actually finding each other in the airport (mother was a little worried at how far away I was coz she thought it was like Perth airport where there are 2 completely different terminals for international and domestic flights) but within 10 mins I was there..

We hired a car & went straight to the apartment we had rented in North Vancouver. The views from the place were amazing & the location was easy to get to everything not to mention the tourist attractions straight up the road. We didnt actually realise just how close Vancouver is to the US Border. We could actually see a set of buldings from across the border through the binoculars!

Our Itinerary for Vancouver was as follows:

Tuesday 22/05/07 - Whistler - which was a bit of a disapointment as there wasnt much there at all!! It was pretty & all but just very small. People make it out to be a whole lot bigger than it actually is. Although I guess during the winter it would be packed.

Wednesday 23/05/07 - Capilano Suspension Bridge - We actually started out intending to go to Grouse Mountain but I suggested it was a little too hazy to go that day & instead should come back another day so we decided on Capilano instead. Basically it is a man-made bridge that links over the Capilano canyon. Its a pretty canyon & the river that goes through it was the same river/stream that went past our apartment.

Thursday 24/05/07 - Grouse Mountain - With views of Vancouver you couldn't buy. It was beautiful up there. They had hand-carved I guess you would call them statues up there made of
View from roomView from roomView from room

If you have a look in the distance you can see the cities I was talking about
wood. The detail on them was so intricate. It was also covered with snow up there. Dirty snow, so it hadnt just freshly fallen, but it was still snow.

Friday 25/05/07 - Downtown Vancouver - We wandered around the downtown area for most of the day then had this bright idea that we would try to find the set of buildings that were off in the distance in the hope that it would mean there was another busyish area around.. Now we're not talking about the ones across the border but another bunch just to the left of Vancouver. So we trecked off on Highway 1 (Trans-Canada Highway which runs from the north of British Columbia right across to Quebec I think) heading east but Dad (with his brain wave) decided that Highway 99 would be better because it was heading south & that was the direction we wanted to go. So we headed that way. I might mention at this point that we didn't actually have a map of the greater vancouver area at this time so were going off a rough map in the yellowpages of all places. We ended up about 50 or so km's from the US border to no avail at finding the elusive city. When we eventually got back, we had a look at a map and if we had of kept going on hwy 1 we probably would have got there... (sorry dad.. had to make sure everyone knows i got it right!! 😉)

Saturday 26/05/07 - Granville Island - We originally had planned on going to Vancouver Island this day but on talking to someone in the tourist centre we realised that it might not be worth it as it would take 1/5 hours each way to get to the island and then a further couple of hours to get to the main part of the island, Victoria. So with only about 7 hours to spare we decided not to go & instead I saw Granville Island on the map which was meant to be interesting. Basically its like everything fremantle boasts compacted into one little island. Its a little port island fully of artsy shops and public markets full of food. I thought it was the bees-nees of towns (i guess if you would call it a town). It was awesome.

Sunday 27/05/07 - Flight to Calgary - We flew to Calgary. The flight was good & I got upgraded to Executive class because mum & dad were with me when they had to allocate me a seat & seeing they were in executive class also.. I got upgraded. Very nice. We arrived in Calgary and my first thoughts were what a pathetic excuse of a town! There was no-one about and nothing there!!! Mum & Dad went for a wander around town to see if they could see anything but I stayed in the hotel to get some sleep as had fallen ill with the flu from the previous tuesday. We decided we should rent a car that night for the following day otherwise there was nothing else to do there.

Monday 28/05/07 - Banff - We drove up to Banff & Lake Louise. The trip up & the actual place itself was so beautiful. Much better than Whistler and there was actually stuff to do. We wandered around the Banff town centre for a while & then headed to Lake Louise. Words cannot describe the beauty of that lake. The mountains surrounding it are covered with snow 365 days a year apparently and the lake was still half frozen over when we where there. The water was so clear & very very pretty.
On our way back we viad off a little to the Deerfoot Outlet Mall. Mum & I couldnt resist so we convinced Dad to take us there. Only had about an hour there so didnt get too carried away.

The funny thing about Calgary was that the sun didnt set until 9:30-10pm each night. It was really strange. I've posted a photo to show the sun setting (its the random one with the Denny's sign in it). That was taken at 10:15pm. Crazy stuff.

Tuesday 29/05/07 - Montreal - We flew to Montreal. Checked into our accommodation & because of the 2 hour tim edifference & all between Calgary & Montreal, we arrived there just in time for dinner and thats about it.

Wednesday 30/05/07 - Wandering around Montreal - Basically we just wandered through all the streets downtown & checked it out. None of us really thought much of Montreal because there didnt seem to be anything to do. I did fund out however from my housemates when I got home that its one of those places to
Totem Poles at CapilanoTotem Poles at CapilanoTotem Poles at Capilano

There were totems everywhere!!
need to know where to go before you actually go i.e. know people who have been/live there for them to tell you the places of interest as they are not widely publised and often further out of the downtown area.

Thursday 31/05/07 - Flying home - It was time to say goodbye to Mum & Dad as they flew off to Ireland and me back home to Toronto. Again, really sad & all of us were in tears but I re-assured mum that the time would go by fast & I'll be home before she knows it. Its only another couple of months.

It was really strange coming back to Toronto. Coming back to the place you were once foreign to & it all just sinking it just like as if you were coming home knowing that its not actually your home. I hope that made some sense..

Anywho, I am now back at work & everything is back to normal. Only had 1 day off after coming back as was rostered on for a shift on saturday at work. Aw well. think of the money.

Besides that everything is ok. I'm still happy here. Work
Capilano BridgeCapilano BridgeCapilano Bridge

Scary looking!
is so-so. Too many dramas going on with my boss & her fiance is affecting business but the patrons are all really nice still & I was greeted with so many "how was your trip"s when i came back. It was really nice to knnow they had remembered or at least even cared because most of them I hadnt even told I was going so they obviously noticed I wasnt there. Its nice.

Am planning to head to Niagara Falls & Ottawa in the next couple of weeks as soon as I get my butt into gear of actually organising it.

But other than that... nothing else to report. I probably wont end up writing again until i head to niagara or ottawa as nothing else really goes on. I will end up speaking to you all at some time before I leave Toronto anyways.

Oh, for those that dont know, I head to New York on the 30th July then from New York to London on 2 August. FYI.

OK, I've posted some pics for you all to have a squiz. Family, you'll probably see most of them back home when M&D get home anyways
The drop from the bridgeThe drop from the bridgeThe drop from the bridge

So basically looking into the canyon underneath
as they are the same ones. Oh, & I will eventually get around to putting some pics of my house & room on here eventually... when my room is at a respectable state.

Love you all
Have fun & stay safe

Jodi



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

Mumma & Pappa Bear at CapilanoMumma & Pappa Bear at Capilano
Mumma & Pappa Bear at Capilano

I was so surprised they actually sat still long enough for me to take this photo!
Fairmont hotel in BanffFairmont hotel in Banff
Fairmont hotel in Banff

No.. we didnt stay here but how cool is it?
My mummyMy mummy
My mummy

Ah.. so proud. Sorry mum! I had to do it!!


4th June 2007

noice!!!! It looks like you guys had an absolutely awesome time!!! can't wait to catch up with you is gonna be absolutely awesome!!!!!! Love ya lots oxoxoxox

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb