Pre-Departure Learning


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow it is amazing how quickly the date for leaving is coming up. I will be flying out of Pearson and flying via Italy to Accra. From there we will head north to Tamale where I will meet the long-term volunteer for more specific training.

The pre-departure learning is intense and am living with 26 people. I have learned so much and find myself reflecting on the many changes that I have made. As a group, I am noting how much our skills are growing. The issue of poverty is so complex and I am finding that some of the absolutes that I thought I had are far more ambiguous. We had Ghanian food last night for the first time. There were many items I really enjoyed and some that will take some getting used to. I find myself balencing between anxiety and excitement but feel that landing will ground me both figuritevly and literally.

A big thanks to the McMaster chapter for preparing that going away book. It will be a constant reminder of why I am in Ghana and of all of you back home. I had George Roter sign on behave of the national office.

Next time you hear (or more realistically) read from me will be Ghana.

Cheers,

Dan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb