29 hour friday 13th


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
April 13th 2007
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

so, finally here. in my little green room full of bags but i have exploded all vacume packed clothes bags and it looks just like home. extra luggage over the allowance was 40kg for all of you that were taking bets! could have flown 2 people over and got them to carry the bags too for the amount they charged me...

flight was great (apart from the 10 hour part) got to see my first iceburg from the air and flew low enough over the ice in the sea. amazing. got 2 seats to myself so kicked back and stretched out for the 2 movies. both brilliant. little miss sunshine, would recommend you watch it and 'in pursuit of happyness' which, if you have seen it, 'this part of my life is called....hostel' watch it, its inspirational.

immigration was surprisingly smooth, it was quicker than when i have been through as just a tourist. i think by the time they got to me and my big red organised file of paperwork they just let me through, the family of at least 17 behind me were trying to use sign language in indian to communicate! frustratingly they did not ask to see my impressive stack of travellers cheques as proof of funds, they just trusted me that i had it. then through to baggge checks where i crossed everything i could cross that they would not want to search the woolworths vacume packed bags that hold the contents of my wardrobe. everyone around me had all manor of objects displayed for customs and i was asked a few questions and waved through! into a limo and arrived at the back packers hostel. so far i had managed not to have to carry and of the heavy luggage myself anywhere! untill i was given my room key on the 2nd floor! but at the point i started to lift the bag the front door opened andf in walked a guy that i recognised from last time i was here, who recognised me, welcomed me back, i offered to buy him a beer, just as soon as he had helped me with 'a few bags'!

i have a view of the tower from my window and can hear the 'streetcars' so my newly donated earplugs were a god send. untill 3am when my alarm clock went off deepinside one of the bags. i had no idea which one and it went off for an hour. i could barely hear it with the earplugs in! am sure i am not popular with the neighbours. made it down for pancakes and coffee for breakfast and now i need to go and look for somewhere proper to live.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb