I've just spent a 2,500 mile train journey with 5 travel writers so this better be good ...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
February 16th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi

I'm writing from the lobby of the Strathcona Hotel in downtown Toronto. I'm wearing a jumper and thinking of discarding it (I just have). 10 feet away - on the other side of the plate-glass window- it,s minus ?? and there is lots of grey and white but hardly fresh snow.

Rewind!! - I arrived at the bus/train station in Vancouver on Sunday and elected to take the "Canadien" train across country rather than the bus (perhaps I'll get a refund?).

It was a good choice :- 2,500 miles, 80 hours, great food, great scenery (subjective), great staff, extreme enui , and EXCELLENT COMPANY. Amongst my (without exception) splendid co- passengers (and train crew) were 5 Canadian travel writers. Notwithstanding that they were enjoying a "freebee" - they were all fun, gracious and interesting and it was such a pleasure and a privilege and an education to spend some good time with them (and lots of other good people on that train) . I take it as a self-compliment that I felt at home amongst them. Crossing Canada is a significant experience and, like life?, exciting, interesting and boring in equal measure.

Now I'm in Toronto and looking forward to going to Ottawa in a few days.

I've phoned both my bank and credit card company and have discovered that (because/despite of my being an excellent customer) - using my cards in Canada was potentially fraudulent ("Keep on Rockin in the Free World" - Neil Young, ONtario - get it?) which is why both have been blocked. I thanked them for protecting/inhibiting my interests so conscientiously, listened to their apologies and have to phone "Mastercard"'s fraud department tomorrow (GMT).

To freedom! - take care all - Glenn

PS - some photos - good ones I think?

PPS - To Andrew Renton (a fellow train traveller- and a jolly decent chap) - I said Renton was a Scottish name - check-out "Trainspotting".

PPPS - Cards sorted this morning - I hope?.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



17th February 2007

Update
Still enjoying this blog! Sounds like you are having fun (jealous)!! The postcards have been arriving here, thanks for them. Mark is also following your travels so keep them coming! Hope you are well. Question? How do you upload your photos onto this blog? We have been on various internet cafes in US and Europe and find that there is no slot to insert your card. You seem to be able to have done this in every country that you have visited. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Mike and family.
17th February 2007

I've always wanted to 'do' Canada by train, but as with most things in life other events take over. Perhaps after Aus and NZ rambles. After spending all that time with literary types you will now be writing a novel about your experiences I take it when you eventually arrive back. If it doesn't win an award there will be questions asked. Hope cards get sorted. By the way, it's Harrier League today, at Wrekenton. Bet you wish you were doing it-hmmmm. keep enjoying and blogging. XC captain :o)
17th February 2007

PICS
Realised why i couldn't download Pics. I only have dial up and it took so long I lost interest. However, now getting Sky BB so should be OK. Bet you are really pleased to know that. :o)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb