Christmas in Thunder Bay


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
December 25th 2006
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To Thunder Bay


Hello Everyone! I've finally gotten settled here in Helsinki so I will start posting all my pictures and notes. Feel free to read as much or as little as you want... you can even just look at the pictures if you'd like. I'll try to keep in touch with everyone, but there's much to see here and I may not be able to write to everyone individually. I started my journey by travelling home to Kakabeka for Christmas. It was a short visit, but I got to see (almost) everyone. Arrived on the 21st and stayed till the 26th. Unfortunately did not see much snow as climate change seems to be having a big effect on Canada this year. Christmas Eve was at Grandma and Grandpa Glenn's as usual for the traditional talent show and roast beef dinner. Sinclaire has gotten big and has lots of energy to run around. She and Gypsy (the dog) kept the party bumping. Christmas morning was nice and quiet. The Nolalu gang showed up for dinner and games in the evening. We all had a great time playing Survivor and eating lots and lots of food. As soon as the party was over I felt stirrings of the flu and was incapacitated from then until I arrived in Dublin. It was a long trip through four airports and three airplanes, but my parents packed me up and bundled me onto the first plane and I managed to crawl through the airports without major incident. I arrived safe and sound in Dublin 12 hours later feeling a little better and quickly recovered at Richard's flat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



14th January 2007

Oceans away!
Hi Jess, Fantastic job on the blogging here. Its Really Weird that you would be touching the ocean while Gabe and I are around the world in the middle of the Pacific, swimming in the Napili Bay, Maui west side. The climate tropical, everyday 75, and always a misty rain which brings a beautiful rainbow, and whales breeching in the distance. We saw as much as we could squeeze in, sea turtles, surfers, pineapple farms, tropical plantations, the "Enchanting Garden" and on the Road to Hana, we visited the "Garden of Eden" before we saw the black sand beach. Architectually the biggest change for us is that Large buildings like malls, and visitor centres, do not necessarily have a roof or walls, like going to Intercity ( well okay but way prettier) and the stores are connected in some ways, but no outer security doors at all, and layered or no roofing. They use a lot of venting techniques for air circulation and not a lot of air conditioning. Our very nice hotel room had neither heater, no cooler of any kind. I would send you a photo if I knew how! Keep up the great blog, will be looking for it, Love Auntie

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb