Bruce Trail Hike - Day 3 - Decew Heritage House to Rockway Falls


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » St. Catherines
April 10th 2016
Published: April 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Decew HeritageDecew HeritageDecew Heritage

Start of Trail
Day 3 of my hike. Another cold day and the temperature with the wind chill would be -10 degrees. This makes hiking hard because your muscles just don't work as well in the cold.

I drove down to Decew House and parked my car and started my hike all bundled up. I walked along a lake and watch the geese playing in Lake Moodie. It is a full double trail so I was making good time walking along the water edge. There were a few waterfalls along this hike and the first one is Morning star Falls. You see when you are exiting the first part of the trail and back onto Decew Rd. I turned right on Decew Rd for about 500 meters before turning back onto the trail. You enter Short Hills Provincial park and the trail goes back and forth through the park and you see some beautiful views of nature and falls. The trail got muddier at this point so I was slowing down. One of the few benefits of cold weather hiking is that the ground is harder so there is less mud. I was tracking my hike through my hiking app on my phone but somewhere in the park the battery failed and I lost about an hour of hiking lost. That is why my picture of the hike has a huge gap in it. There were a number of other hikers on this trail and I gave some advise about the muddy conditions and got some advise about slippery uphill and downhill parts coming up.

I exited the provincial park onto Effingham st and walked along a farmer's field and went over some fences with those stepladders people have installed. The last part of my hike was along the escarpment over Pelham st. It is slow going because of the mud and I sunk in up to my ankles a few time. Finally I went downhill for the last time and exited onto Pelham and st and I walked over to Rockway Community Centre where I sat down on a rock and ate my lunch of granola bars. FYI granola bars on a cold day is hard to eat.

I didn't have a ride back to my car so I hiked along Pelham st and took a short trail to get back onto Decew Rd and started walking towards Decew Heritage House. This was tough going because the roads were narrow and was completely uphill which it at the end of the hike is hard to do. Finally around the 5th hour of my hike I found myself back at Decew Heritage House.

Total Hiking distance 25KM - 18KM on Bruce Trail. 5 hours


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

MapMap
Map

There is a large gap in the map because my cellphone died


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb