Bruce Trail Hike Day 26: 718699 1 Line E Honeywood to 79317 County Rd 9 Creemore


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Shelburne
October 1st 2016
Published: October 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today was another rainy day. I had to drive a hour north from my apartment to reach the head of trails. It was dark for most of the morning drive. I must admit it was strange driving in the darkness through the lightly populated areas north of Brampton. The sun was rising above the clouds when I reached 1 Line E in Honeywood. I parked along the side of a dirt road and started my hike.

You walk along the road until you reach Concession Road 8. You turn right along this road and walk until you reach the end of the road. I checked my map app and it showed I was entering Noisy River Provincial park. The hike in this park is level but very rocky and slippery because of the rain. My rain poncho was helping keep me dry but was slowing down because the wind kept whipping it around. The moss covered rocks I was walking on were slippery and I did almost fall a few times. Thankfully my hiking boots kept me safe. I passed a pair of guys coming from the other direction and they were the only people I saw on this hike. Around 6 KM I reached Concession Road 10 and crossed into the park again. I hadn't see the Noisy River yet but I did see a nice lake and spent a few minutes relaxing by the water. After a few more KM I reached County Rd 9 and turned right and followed the road until I reached Concession road 10 again. The trail turns left onto the road and northward at this point but it was still raining hard so I opted to end my hike there. I than walked through Lavender, ON which is just a few houses and no stores that I could see and hiked up Lavender Hill. That hill was actually the hardest part of my hike because it is almost a 1.5 KM hike and a steep incline. I was fairly winded by the time I reached the top.

So I finally reached my car and headed home. Today's hike was 16.5 KM and 3 Hours 20 minutes. I only have a few more hikes before winter makes it too hard to reach the trails. I will try to finish my Bruce Trail hike sometime next year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb