Happy Birthday, Princess Panna!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Schreiber
August 12th 2007
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday, Princess Panna!

Sunday, 12 August 2007

Today was Panna’s third birthday. It’s hard to believe in a way. You’d think she’d be much more sedate & mature, but people still think she’s a puppy - guess she takes after her “mom”, ha ha.

It was also a “moving” day for us, but I didn’t want to sacrifice my “work”, so I took Panna for what was supposed to be a 5 kilometre walk. Only I forgot, and went 7 kilometres instead! Oh well, happy birthday, puppy. My original plan had been to next bicycle the first 20-30 kilometres from Thunder Bay en route to Schreiber, but it was really windy, both head- and cross-winds, plus part of the route we took did not allow bicycles (as we noticed while driving on it), and once we passed the Terry Fox Monument the road became quite unpleasant for bicycling - big hill(s), rough pavement/no shoulder, then a long construction site with a rough gravel surface.

We did stop for a while at the Terry Fox Monument, to pay our respects. For some reason his effort to run across the country to raise funds for research on cancer really touches some inner part of me, and many many others as well. Perhaps it was his marathon which became part of my inspiration for this trip, although I’m not raising funds for anything, and I am not demonstrating a fraction of the determination he did.

When we got to Schreiber I took Panna for another walk, to make up the balance of the 10 kilometres for my “day”. For her birthday she also received a new toy, one of my old cycling gloves (full of Mom’s sweaty hand-smells) and one of Bob’s hats (the one she’s enjoyed chewing on occasionally, also full of sweaty smell). I’d have gotten her a nice bone to chew, but didn’t want her to leave bloody stains on the carpet or bedspread at any of the places where we’ve stayed - maybe when we get home…

DAY 46: 10.1 km, walking



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

12 aug 2007 Inscription on Terry Fox Monument, near Thunder Bay, Ont12 aug 2007 Inscription on Terry Fox Monument, near Thunder Bay, Ont
12 aug 2007 Inscription on Terry Fox Monument, near Thunder Bay, Ont

"Dreams are made if people only try. I believe in miracles...I have to...because somewhere the hurting must stop." Terry Fox


25th August 2007

Happy Birthday Sis
Happy Birthday Panna. I had a great day. Hope you did too. Mom gave me a toy and treats and more treats. I just had to kill the squeeky! Papa and Nana were over to my house along with Tanner, Uncle Ken and Auntie Sharron for a party. Mom made a tuna loaf birthday cake. It was really good. Tanner and I hoovered our servings and asked for more. It sounds as if you are having a good time seeing Canada. Hugs to all, Cedar (and Jane)

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb