To St Josephs Island


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Sault Ste Marie
August 18th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

To St Joseph's Island

Saturday, 18 August 2007

Today was a much much better day than yesterday, both for weather & for what I was able to do. I took Blue & rode from the motel to St Joseph’s Island, some 30-40 kilometres east of Sault Ste Marie. The riding on the whole went very well, even though there was a bit of wind and a couple of good-sized hills (one was over 3 kilometres long, but the slope was gradual, so it was relatively easy).

There was an interesting bridge to cross to get to the island, and soon after I did Margaret, my friend who met up with us at Schreiber, as she’s taking her own tour by motorcycle, rode past me & we stopped & chatted a bit. It was quite a pleasant surprise to see her, especially since she wasn’t planning to tour the island, just came by to say “hello”. Apparently she had stopped by the motel just as Bob & Panna were outside; they chatted a bit, then he told her where she might find me, if her riding took her in that direction.

There was no way I was going to ride around the entire island - it’s about 50+ kilometres to do that, I think, but it was pleasant riding. My only complaint is that I couldn’t see the water as much as I would have liked - there are farms and homes between the road and the water’s edge.

I’d thought I might be able to get to a certain bakery which had “beckoned” me as I rode onto the island, but Bob got to me first, and since I’d already done my 60 km, I decided to take the easy way back to the bakery, where I got a blueberry tart for Bob & a yummy sort of bar cookie (even MORE rich than a Nanaimo Bar!) for myself.

DAY 51: 63.8 km, in 3:21 hours, ave. speed 19.0 km/hr, max. speed 36.1 km/hr



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.343s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.3034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb