I'm Somewhere Bound


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Richmond Hill
September 3rd 2014
Published: September 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

As I type this, I am yet again in an airport bound for a great wide Somewhere. Except it’s not just anywhere and it’s not so scary anymore. It would be an injustice to the experience to say that leaving last year was simply terrifying. Yes, it was exciting and new and I was thrilled to go but holy crap it was absolutely, mind numbingly hilariously, scary. And I’m grateful for that. If I wasn’t afraid of what I was walking into, I wasn’t doing it right. Of all the amazing experiences I’ve been blessed with, I am most proud of the experience I had last year. I threw myself head first into an experience I had vastly underestimated and I am so grateful I did.



But that’s not important right now. I am sitting on a stool in a terminal near one of the most ridiculous examples of airport sculpture and art I have ever seen. It’s 5:32, and I am struggling to enjoy a fifteen dollar salad that taste more like paper than food. My flight is overbooked, apparently. I don’t know how this will impact me; I can only hope that the crowding will mean I either get sit with the pilots or on an attractive, well read, age appropriate gentleman. The odds for either are rather grim though.



I’m so excited to be on my way that I am being inappropriate in a blog that my grandma reads. Sorry Grandma. But there are moments in a persons life in which they have a firm, unshakable certainty that the place they are currently in is absolutely, without any single trace of doubt, where they are supposed to be in that moment. I am currently experiencing one of those moments and it's making me sentimental and overly poetic in my writing and I recognize that it's probably really obnoxious for anyone who isn't me but I'm really happy and I refuse to apologize for that.



Anyway, I’m desperately trying to kill time while the wifi isn’t working, which is the biggest tragedy I’ve hit thus far. But that probably means that you’re not going to get this in real time, so I’ll pre-emptively say hey from the Kilted lands. I’m sure my flat looks great and the flight went smoothly.



A joke for those hip with the technology and/or lingo:

Q: What does Tarzan yell when he wants you to do something funny?



A: ‘Do it for the Vine’







I may or may not have laughed out loud in the airport. I crack myself up. (Full disclosure: I thought of that with the help of Josh and I thought of it in the car. And it’s still hilarious.)







Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb