With my eyes still shut, I realized I was still alive. But this was only the beginning. – Never Cry Wolf


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Owen Sound
June 20th 2011
Published: June 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok, perhaps a little dramatic for being dropped off by (uncle) Red John at the 401/Hwy 6 (Guelph). But I had to start with something on my first day.

Today was my first day as a hitchhiker. As I got closer and closer to the 401/Hwy 6 I really had to come to grips with the travel plans that I just told all the people in my world about. I was about to get dropped off with no turning back. I must be nuts.

I did a bit of walking, a fair bit of standing, at least it felt like a lot of standing. Everyone who picked me up felt I was making good time. It was a hot day and I will forever remember carrying 100lbs of backpack up the hill in Durham in the heat of the day.

Red John dropped me off at 11:30 and I reached my first initial destination of Tobermory at 7:00 pm. It took 8 rides to get here. The only problem with Tobermory is that it offers no place to sleep in the immediate vicinity of the ferry. So as I type this I have no clue where I sleep tonight, perhaps a park bench.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb