To Ottawa


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
October 7th 2012
Published: October 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Montreal stationMontreal stationMontreal station

We are getting just a little bit travel weary at this point. Does it show?
We were up at the crack of dawn this morning (actually the dawn had not yet cracked) to cach the train from Quebec City to Ottawa. This actually consisted of two trains. The first, from Quebec City to Montreal was very impressive! Instead of the usual four seats across, it had only three, two on one side and one on the other. The overhead baggage compartments were smaller than normal, but faced the rear of the car so they were accessible without having to stand up and get into the aisle. There was a large table with each seat, so I was able to work on my computer the whole trip, which naturally went very fast since I was so busily occupied!

We had just enough time in Montreal between trains to grab some breakfast. The second leg of our journey is on a more normal-sized train car, but I'm still managing to work on my computer! Just not quite so comfortably as before. Free Internet on the Quebec City to Windsor corridor, too!

We are both tired from so much walking and climbing in Quebec City. Roberta is looking forward to eating a bunch of turkey tomorrow and then sleeping it off! I'd settle for a really comfortable bed tonight.

Later, about 8 pm....

We are happily ensconced at friends' for the night. (They are out of town, so we have the run of the place. Too bad we're too tired to party! LOL!) With a little jiggering we even managed to get connected to the Internet. For some reason I am getting a very poor cell signal here, so I can't tether the way I usually do when away. Very odd. I've checked all over the house and I get one bar everywhere. Will have to check again tomorrow in other locations in the city and environs. This is usually the kind of signal I get way out in the boondocks (like Peter and Marielle's camp), not in a major city.

It's very familiar being back in Ottawa. I find with very little reflection I can find my way around. Until I come across a changed landmark I used to navigate by. I also find it a bit sad to be here. Nortel was such a big part of my life here and it's very sad to think it's gone forever, and all its people scattered. It's also hard to be in this city and not reflect on what the Reformatories are doing to it and to the whole country. I chose this country 44 years ago for many of the very things the Reformatories with their false majority are trying to obliterate. Too sad!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb