Ok, so I was told Burkina is hot, but this is crazy...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
May 4th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey, everyone
So tonight is my last night in town. Crazy. I was told the weather in Burkina is super hot right now, and I made the mistake of checking online. HOLY CRAP is it ever hot there! The weather for the next couple of days looks something like this:

Today: High 43, Low 28
Fri: High 42, Low 30
Sat: High 42, Low 37

You get the idea...

I think it's safe to say I'm going to spend the next year in a constant state of SWEATY. Luckily for me, I went out yesterday and bought a whole bunch of gear for the Kilimanjaro climb and just general field stuff. The new pack is FANTASTIC but the real highlight is my very stylish, very "geologist chic" field hat!!!! It's one of those wide-brimmed jobbies in khaki (the colour of colonialism), and it's got the buttons to lift the sides up and everything. I'm going to do a wicked Crocodile Hunter impression. 😊

Tonight is my last rugby practice and it makes me so sad. I'm sure that rugby will be the part of Ottawa I miss most. I'll just have to make sure to scrum down against a tree every now and then to feel at home. Yes, ladies, as promised, I WILL supply a picture of me scrumming against a tree in Africa. Count on it.

Anyway, that's my ramblings for today. Sorry not many pics lately. They take a long time to load for some reason, and I have just been too busy to take care of them properly. Soon, I swear!

Lots of love and props out to all of you!

-Brownie

Advertisement



5th May 2006

Have a good trip out there, I hope the flights aren't too bad. I can't wait to see pictures and hear about all this... oh, and especially excited about the hat. Good luck!! :)

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 64; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb