I'm HERE!!!!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
May 7th 2006
Published: May 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody! I made it!
After a super long series of flights, I arrived in Burkina Faso last night. The travel began by almost missing my bus to Montreal because we thought it was leaving from the train station (where they sometimes leave from). Luckily, the bus station isn't too far away and I made it with 10 mins to spare. 😊 Unfortunately, that meant Ma got jipped out of a proper goodbye hug lasting more than 2 seconds, so if you see my mom soon be sure to hug her properly for me!

Other than that, the trip went off without a hitch. All my connections were good, and I slept pretty much the whole way since I was exhausted! (Moving crew: are you guys sore too? My triceps are killing me! I love you guys!). When I walked off the plane, I was hit by that familiar smack of Africa: overwhelming heat and smell. For the record, it was 39 degrees outside at 10pm when I got to the guest house. Pretty much all I've done so far is sweat.

My room in the guest house is amazing, but I don't know if I get to keep it. I think they were a little unprepared for my arrival. They put me in the room of one of our VPs (my supervisor) who lives in Canada but visits fairly regularly. Other rooms were free on a more permanent basis, but they didn't have any dressers or furniture in them. Hopefully I get to keep this room because its HUGE. It's practically a suite. It's got a dresser and a wardrobe and a double bed (this bed will ruin my back in one year) and a couch and table. It's also got a little ensuite with a sink and toilet. The shower is down the hall. Everything is clean and the room is airconditioned (A MUST) but it's so big it took a while to cool it off. I turned on the air conditioner last night before bed when the room was 42 degrees. It was 26 by the time I woke up. The goal is 21. I'll let you know how long it takes! The hallways and stuff aren't air conditioned, though, just individual rooms, so when I leave my room to go down the hall I get another dose of the heat. Hopefully I get used to it, because it's really REALLY hot!

Anyway, not much more to relate right now. Sorry for no pics but I've only been in the country about 12 hours so you'll have to cut me some slack. I'll take some and post ASAP. Thanks to everyone for their best wishes. It's nice to know that I've got such a big support base in Canada to draw from. I'm sure one or many of you will have to talk me out of coming home at some point! But for now, things are going well and I'm glad I came. This is the adventure of a lifetime, right? No kidding!

Take care all of you and I'm sending you big sweaty hugs!
-Brownie

Advertisement



7th May 2006

Hey
Hey Hans/Frans, I'm lovin the blog idea and I'm gunna be one of those hard core ppl and subscribe to it so i never miss anything you have to say! well i suppose that's it cept for I already miss you and I love you lots.xoxo.

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb