Bruce Trail Hike: Day 21 7th Line Rd Orangeville to 5 Line E Mono


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Orangeville
August 7th 2016
Published: August 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today was trying to get back on track for hiking. Last 2 hikes I stopped after less than 10km due to foot injuries. I drove north to Orangeville and parked at the 7th line rd Bruce Trail parking lot. After my usual stretching and preparation I started my hike. You walk along 7th Line for about 600M until you enter the trail section. For the next 2km it is moderate hiking with moderate elevation. It is mostly private property you are walking through so you have to stay on the trail. I exited the trail onto 5th Side Rd and crossed the street to get back onto the trail.

The next 3KM of the hike is difficult and has a lot of elevation changes. At this point I was approaching the highest point of the escarpment according to a plaque on the trail. I am approaching the halfway mark of the Bruce Trail. I will have consider if I am going to make it to the end of the trail this year. In any case the trail is a mix of fields and forests and I was still hoping to see some animals but it was mostly squirrels and chipmunks. I don't think they have seen many people because several of them came up to me. After 3KM I exited onto airport Rd and I was considering ending the hike there and hiking back to my car because the blister on my foot was still bothering me. After sitting in the shade for a few minutes I decided to push forward.

The final 4KM of the hike is strenuous and you are working toward a high point called Dave's Pinnacle. The day was starting to get hot and I wished I had brought more water because I was starting to ration water at this point. After coming down from the high point of the trail I exited onto 5th Line EHS. I than walked back to my car which was 6km away on the roads. I was a bit tired but feeling pretty good that I had gone back to a more standard hiking distance.

Total Hike: 15KM 3 hours.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.361s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb