Bruce Trail Hike: Day 20: Glen Haffy Conservation Area to 7th Line Orangeville


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Orangeville
July 31st 2016
Published: July 31st 2016
Edit Blog Post

This was not a good day hiking. I only managed 6.5 KM for a number of reasons.

I drove 40KM north of my apartment to a Bruce Trail Parking lot at 7th Line Orangeville just off Airport Rd. I was feeling a bit sick so I was not sure how far I was going to get today. I walked south from the Parking lot and into Conservation Lands. There must have been a major storm in the area recently because there were a number of obstructions on the trail. Including an enormous tree that had fallen on the trail. I debated rather to try and climb the tree trunk but I opted instead to walk a bit through the forest to get around it. The Bruce Trail association is very good about clearing these trees in a timely manner and that is how I knew the tree had only fallen recently.

I had just gotten new hiking shoes and I was still breaking them in. Unfortunately I was still not done breaking them in and I was developing a foot sore about 2km into the hike. I can usually just fight my way through it but this sore was painful to walk with. After 4KM and once I reach HWY 9 I was faced with a decision. I could continue my hike or just walk back to my car. After a bit of thinking I opted not to do anymore damage to my foot. I walked back on Airport Rd and after 2.5KM I was back at my car.

I have to remember to bring bandages on my hikes in the future. So this is was my shortest hike of the season, 90 minutes and 6.5KM. I will try to get back on track next week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0801s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb